1 / 2

Help for our garden and more and get to discover Réunion Island, France

  • Favourited 28 times
  • Last activity: 8 Jul 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    I am a woman seventy four years old. I am living in Réunion Island in a big tropical garden. There are 4 houses et we live 4 families in this garden : We try to developpe "living together". The maintenance for habitations et garden is important. We need help et we wish to open this place for persons who like to discover Réunion Island, our garden place and offering help for maintenance. I can accomodate only one person... I would like the person welcomed knows cooking and have experience of physical work.

    Je suis une femme de 74 ans je vis à l'Ile de la Réunion dans un grand jardin tropical. Il y a 4 habitations et nous vivons donc à 4 familles sur le lieu. Nous essayons de développer l'idée du "vivre ensemble". L'entretien du lieu tant pour les habitations que pour le jardin demande des disponibilités que nous n'avons pas forcément. Nous aurions besoin et envie de nous ouvrir à l'accueil de personnes qui aimeraient découvrir l'Ile de la Réunion, notre lieu de vie et de nous aider à l'entretien. Je ne peux accueillir qu'une seule personne à la fois... je souhaite que la personne accueillie sache cuisiner et ait quelques notions du travail physique.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Reunion is an Intense Island both in its location and in its Creole culture. I have lived here for 40 years and what is unique here is multi culturalism and multi racialism. We experience a life of sharing and exchange between us. We make a shared vegetable garden. We are close to Madagascar and we have many exchanges with the Red Island. I am personally president of an association that runs a small bush school there.

    La Réunion est une Ile Intense tant dans sa localisation que dans sa culture créole. J'y vis depuis 40 ans et ce qui est unique ici c'est le multi culturalisme et le multi racialisme. Nous expérimentons une vie de partage et d'échanges entre nous. Nous faisons un potager partagé. Nous sommes proches de Madagascar et nous avons de nombreux échanges avec l'Ile Rouge. Je suis personnellement Présidente d'une association qui gère une petite école de brousse là-bas.

  • Help


    cleaning garden : cutting the trees, giving them water when they need, cleaning all the places which serve to go to other houses... planting trees.
    reparing : the houses are in wood and they need cleaning with karcher and painting.
    helping internet

    I am vegetarian. I would prefer to welcome people who are too. The cooking of the meals will also be part of the sharing.

    Je suis végératienne. Je préfèrerais accueillir des personnes qui le sont également. La cuisine des repas fera aussi partie du partage.

    L'entretien du jardin : taille des arbres, arrosage, nettoyage des allées, plantations....
    Entretien, bricolage : les maisons sont en bois, les nettoyer au karcher, refaire les protections lasure aussi des volets.
    Réparation des terrasses en bois qui le nécessitent ainsi que leur protection à l'huile de lin.
    Aide à l'informatique : aller plus loin que ce que je sais faire...

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    A room in my house is available. It can also be camping if the traveler prefers it.

    Une chambre dans ma maison est disponible. Ce peut être également le camping si le voyageur le préfère.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 h/jour, 5j/sem

Host ref number: 186975442374

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)