Stay in a hub for sustainable technologies and permaculture-based gardens in north west Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on my own on a small farm in a beautiful valley in north west Tasmania. The valley is heavily forested with native Australian trees and sits on the edge of a lake, the result of a river that was dammed for hydro electricity. Despite this the area has no mains electricity so everyone living here generates their own power from either solar or micro hydro systems, or both. The local community itself is small but vibrant, consisting of several families engaged in home schooling their kids, and a variety of other people seeking a quiet life in a beautiful setting. My farm is a mix of native bush, and cleared areas, with beautiful forests of tall timber and rain forest.
    At this stage I have a small flock of sheep, some chooks and abundant local wildlife including wallabies, possums and many varieties of birds. I have a few bee hives which I interact with from time to time. There is a vegetable garden which is always in need of attention, numerous fruit trees and each year I grow a small crop of potatoes which are sold locally. Most of the work here involves building and maintaining fences, clearing weeds in paddocks, cutting, splitting and stacking firewood, gardening, working with fruit trees, building, and caring for the animals.
    The new house, built using alternative construction techniques involving earthen walls and floors and a variety of locally sourced materials is now complete. The property will be of interest to anyone who values the principles of sustainable living. As I mentioned the farm is off - grid and is powered by a mix of renewable energies, solar and hydro power, generated on the property. Alternative technologies and permaculture principles underpin my approach to running the property.
    There is a small self contained cabin for visitors which is a very comfortable space made of earth and timber. It has a small kitchen and bathroom and is very comfortable. Nearly all my cooking is done on a slow combustion wood stove and is entirely based on whole foods. Evening meals and lunch are usually shared but visitors can have breakfast in their own cabin ... I'm not much of a morning person. But evening meals are usually a time for sharing cooking and conversation.
    There are lots of beautiful walks in the immediate area and good bush rides on horseback or mountain bike. Unfortunately I no longer have a horse so I can't offer horse riding as an activity. As a lot of other people in the valley have workaway visitors or woofers there is an opportunity to socialise with them when you are not required for activities here on the farm.

    *I can offer internet access but it is not unlimited. Checking email and catching up on news is fine but downloading or streaming movies etc is not.
    I have a dog who enjoys visitors and is very friendly.*

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People coming to stay here always comment on how wonderful it is to stay in a community like this. Lorinna is a hub for a range of sustainable technologies and building methods and there are excellent examples of permaculture-based approaches to gardens and general design principles. The dwellings on my farm are both earthen constructions, made using very local and recycled materials, with an emphasis on sustainability and energy efficiency. Anyone who values these principles will find coming here very interesting and instructive. All this in a farm setting within an area of stunning natural beauty.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always a broad range of chores to be done so it's not hard to find something that you would enjoy doing. Now summer is here the priority tasks are weeding and planting in the veggie garden, fencing maintenance, care and maintenance of fruit trees and screening trees, restocking the firewood supply, and of course ongoing building projects. There is always a lot of brush cutting to be done to keep fences clear. For people with mechanical skills, I always welcome help with machinery repairs as I have very poor skills as a mechanic. Given this is an area of high bushfire risk, fire prevention activities are also important at this time of year.

    Couples and older Workawayers are very welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Tibetan: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will stay in a self contained cabin that sleeps two people, or three if you are two adults and a child. The cabin is self contained, with a slow combustion stove that provides heat, hot water and cooking facilities. It includes a shower and toilet and a comfortable verandah to sit on and watch the play of bird life.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When not working, helpers can go walking in the local area through the forests, or go swimming or kayaking at the lake. I don't have a kayak but I can usually borrow one. On Saturdays afternoons there is a local food co-op which serves as a meeting place where you can meet and chat with locals and other woofers and helpers over a coffee or tea.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 727346436781