Help with painting and some house renovations in Whangarei, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 455 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    116  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    We have a large section with an old house Whangarei.
    We are a semi retired couple with a cavoodle dog, often away and therefore happy for house/dog sitting but also a bit of outdoor and indoor painting and some gardening to do.
    We have cycles for an easy ride into town or over to the falls etc. The cycle walkway along the railline is accessed very near to our place.

    We currently have some carpentry, painting and always some weeding and mowing. Always windows and internal clean to do too.

    Accommodation is in the house with us but if you prefer more privacy we have a good big tent and outdoor covered space too.
    We are pretty easygoing about when you do the working hours, some times the jobs are enjoyable and you don't notice time flying by, other jobs a few hours is enough and that's fine too. Within reason we leave you to work out when you feel like working to make up the hours.
    Some times there are jobs to work together, some times I will let you know what needs doing and leave you to it.
    If you have any particular skills I tend to try to find the job most likely to be the most productive .

    Perfectly happy for you to work longer hours some days and then have more days off to explore the area. Don't mind whether it's week days or weekends or what time of day you want to start. You are, after all, on holiday!
    There are easy walks to do around bush and coast within easy reach of town or the Bay of Islands is just over an hours drive north. Waipu cave system is half hour drive south.
    Whatever works is all good.

    We are near enough to town that you can stay here while working (and do the workaway hours on days off or around job hours, there is a lot of hospitality work available in town.)

    Plenty of room to park your car or van, happy to pick you up from the bus .

    we have wifi available, you can have your own bathroom as we have two.
    we are not smokers and prefer non smokers to stay.

    Happy to have individuals or a couple.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we try to be as gentle on the earth as we can be so use organic growing methods wherever possible.
    It would be wonderful to be self sustaining but that is unrealistic at this point.
    happy to teach painting tips, not sure what other cultural exchange is involved besides cards in the evening if wanted, lots of local knowledge for places to see in northland.

  • Help

    Help

    There is a variety of work including renovations , painting, lots of painting - the weatherboards, the fence and inside, weeding, mowing, mulching. There is always cleaning to do if that's your preference. We have a LOT of windows. There is always plenty to do!
    Some carpentry work available.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    own bedroom and bathroom in the house or welcome to stay in your own van, can park out of the weather in the carport and use the bathroom, eat with us, share cooking if interested.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we have the tutukaka coast nearby with the wonderful poor knight islands for diving and snorkelling trips.
    we have a lot of coast line on the east coast, with absolute stunning beaches and lovely short and long walks.
    the bay of islands is accessible for a long day trip or overnight easy trip.
    same time to the waipoua forest with the kauri trees and bush walks.
    whangarei township has everything you could need altho it is not a big city.
    there is a strong international sailing community which sits out the cyclone season from nov to may so there is the chance to get crewing work up to the islands if that is of interest. most international boats leave between april and june.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    any size, we have lots of room :-)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    we have a very friendly cavoodle dog on the property, a year old as at aug 2022. she loves other dogs to play with.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.9)












































































Host ref number: 763943224416