Help with restoration and gardening of an old Hammersmith in the forest in South of Bavaria, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 460 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    99.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We began the conservation and restoration of our 300 year old home almost five years ago. The house was an active Hammersmith until 1907 this meant the smith used the power of the river to hammer metal into tools and implements.
    It is an all round project with work needed on the building internally and externally as well as outside in the grounds.

    The Hammerschmiede passed though a number of hands over the last 110 years and was sadly increasingly negleged. So we have been giving it much needed TLC. Over the last years we have had amazing helpers though workaway who have enabled us to realise our home and breath some life back into a very tired house. It is incredible how many helpful, kind and caring people are out there and have found their way to our home. We would not have been able to do what we have done without all their help.

    The house has a traditional southern Bavarian alpine wood structure. So a great deal of the work is woodwork. But plastering, electrical and plumbing is also needed. Outside we are landscaping the grounds to suit the surrounding nature.
    We have reached a stage of our renovations were the end is in sight :-) this means that we are looking mainly for helpers with at least some experience in building.

    Our home is situated at the end of a dirt track road in a valley by the river in a forest clearing. It is located in foot hills of the Alps. Austria 10 mins, Switzerland 40 mins and Italy 3 hours away. The only sounds are from the river and the animals. It is a very quite and peaceful place. The nearest ski resort is 15 mins up the road :-)

    Xenia 14 and Balthasar 12 are bubbly and a lot of fun to be with. They go to the Montesorri school.

    I am British and we only speak English at home.

    We love animals and have an amazing Spanish greyhound dog, an arab horse, a cat, ducks, geese, rabbits, chickens and goats.

    Strictly NO Smokers please.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have travelled a lot and are open. Health and Healthy living is important to us. We bake our own bread, when we have time make our own yogurt and cheese. We speak English at home.
    We are into History, read a lot
    You can learn all kinds of craftsman skills, herbs, planting, about horses and animals

  • Help

    Help

    Woodwork e.g. Building stairs, laying floors.
    Insulating
    Plumbing and electrical
    Building furniture
    Some work outside
    General support with cleaning

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have a room for yourself

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is very beautiful. Very rural. We are only a few km away from the austrian boarder and close to Lake Constance.
    There are many beautful towns and sites and stunning nature. It is great for walking, bycicle and riding.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 185742484742