Get an insight into kiwi life and help in gardening in Geraldine, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/09/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We own a traditional New Zealand villa on 5 acres a few miles from the town of Geraldine which is in South Canterbury in the South Island. Andrew works in the agricultural business and I am now retired but busy with my horse Bramble who I ride regularly. Andrew enjoys playing golf & more than happy to take anyone who plays to the local golf course. We also have a Highland cattle called Gimli and an Alpaca called Bilbo plus elderly dog Shadow. Our self contained unit which is rented for holiday makers is available for Workaway couples who would prefer to 'do their own thing'. We have been welcoming guests from all over the world for over 16 years.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We originally came from the U.K. and can offer an insight into living in New Zealand.

  • Help

    Help

    We basically need help with the garden but also general help such a maintenance, painting, cooking etc. We are flexible with hours of working.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bedroom with shared shower room. All meals will be provided. Alternatively for a couple - our self contained studio unit who would prefer to be self sufficient with doing their own cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Geraldine is a tourist town and has cafes, shops and a heritage cinema. It is 3 kms away. Timaru is the main town and is 40 minutes away. Mount Peel which is good for walks is 20 minutes away and Lake Tekapo just over an hour away. Mt Hutt ski resort is about an hour away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space for a campervan/motorhome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 185576636538