Join our family in Cambodia's bustling capital city, Phnom Penh

Country

Cambodia

new host  

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Franco-belgian family of 5 (Emile 7, Madeleine 5 and new baby Héloïse). I am a freelance writer for children, and my husband is the country director of a small Belgian NGO. We have been living in Cambodia for 10 years now and we all speak fluent Khmer. We live in a traditional wooden house in the very centre of Phnom Penh (Bang Keng Kong 1).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak French, English and Khmer. We know Cambodia and the region very very well and will be able to help and advise you to make the most of your time here and help you if you plan to visit other countries in the region.
    We will do our best to introduce you to cambodian culture, politics and everyday life in a family.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a friendly, English or French speaking person who likes children who can help out get our 2 older kids ready fo school in the morning (6:30-8am) and help with the bedtime routine in the evening (6-8pm) Mon-Fri. We usually have dinner at 6pm and then play a board or card game with the older kids, then read a story and... lights out by 8pm!
    My husband often travels abroad and since I now have a newborn, I am looking for someone to give me a hand during these two critical times of the day when he is away.
    Right now it looks like he will be away the first half of October, and the entire month of January. Do enquire about other times, as his trips can be organised at the last minute.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Khmer

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will put you up in a studio appartement adjacent to our house (we will share the terrace). It’s nice and quiet and you won’t hear the family from there. The studio has a King Size bed, aircon, a bathroom and a separate room with a small kitchenette.
    You're welcome to have breakfast and dinner with us anytime.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Phnom Penh has a lot to offer. There are lots of sights to visit, bars and restaurants of all budgets and cuisine. You can chill out by a pool or relax in a luxury spa for very little money. It is easy and safe to get out and about, with uber-style apps for motos, tuktuks and taxis. Travellers who come here often come back as expatriates!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

This is the inside of our cosy wooden house. It used to be a traditional house on stilts, but now the bottom part has been converted to concrete. We live on the first floor (wooden part). Our lovely Khmer neighbours, who we like to socialise with, live on the ground floor in a completely separate apartment.
This is our front terrace
There is also a terrace on the other side of the house. The studio is right at the back.
This is the bedroom of the studio where you would be staying
This is the studio's kitchenette
We love to travel in remote places in the country and also in the region. Here we were in Tonle Bati, in Takeo province. Our kids love these kind of mini aventures off the beaten track.
Our two older kids dressed for a wedding in their nanny's home village.
Adventures in Mondulkiri
The latest addition to our family.
Host ref number: 185291726533