Family looking for help around our home in the beautiful township of Daylesford, Australia



Favourited 18 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We live in the beautiful township of Daylesford, just over an hour north west of Melbourne. Toby is 56, and an Englishman and commercial film producer who has been living in Australia for 30 years. Sally is 50, Australian, and is the PR Manager for the region's Tourism Board. We have two daughters, Claudia (nearly 19) who will be living mainly in Melbourne this year, on a Gap Year, working towards a trip to Europe in April 2019, and Ava (nearly 18) who is in her final year of school at a boarding school about an hour away. Both girls come home from time to time and are a lot of fun, very outgoing and with great senses of humour. We also have a gorgeous Golden Retriever dog, Honey, who is just over two years old and who would love any attention you would like to give her. We are a fun, easy going family, who love good food, wine and conversation.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a happy family and welcome your stay with us. We're very close to Melbourne and can offer the opportunity to experience country Victorian life. If you're hoping to improve your English skills we're happy to help. If you don't have your own transport we are able to assist with getting you to the local train station or to pick you up / drop you off at the airport.

  • Help


    Our home is in the heart of Daylesford, easy walking distance to all of the shops and eateries in the main street and also right beside to Daylesford's Botanic Gardens. We have a large garden and home, and really just need help doing day to day simple chores to keep on top of everything, and to have it all looking need, tidy and clean. Gardening work (including vegetable garden) might include watering, weeding and planting, mulching, and carting away (or burning) debris. From time to time we collect wood for our winter fires, and need to keep the wood shed stacked. Help inside the house would include general duties such as vaccuuming, mopping, dusting, ironing, cleaning out cupboards, stacking and emptying the dishwasher, setting the table for meals and (less regularly) polishing silver and washing windows. And we would love our dog, Honey, to be given lots of attention and the occasional walk (if we are unable to take her ourselves). None of the work that we would ask you to do is difficult.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian (some French and German)

  • Accommodation


    You will be staying in the house we live in and we have one bedroom with a queen size bed (for either one person or a couple to share) and private ensuite available. From time to time we might have a second bedroom, also with a queen size bed, and with a shared bathroom. The availability of this second bedroom will depend on when my youngest daughter is at boarding school or at home. We provide full board with seasonal produce either from our garden or sourced locally. Toby is a fantastic cook and if you enjoy cooking, he'd be happy to teach you some of his favorite recipes or learn some of yours. We are non smokers, and whilst we don't mind if you smoke, we ask that you don't smoke inside the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Daylesford is a very pretty and popular tourist town in the foothills of the Great Dividing Range of Victoria, Australia. It’s known for its natural mineral springs and many walking trails. We have a local swimming pool open in summer, two beautiful lakes, a library and cinema as well as some great cafes, shops and local pubs. Located nearby are the old gold mining towns of Ballarat, Creswick and Castlemaine. Daylesford is a short drive to both Woodend and Ballan train stations and the regular train to Melbourne takes one hour.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 184618965228