Help needed in my lovely village house landscaping and refurbishment near Orgiva, Granada, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 475 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I have been renovating a lovely old village house and have nearly finished I just need help landscaping the garden and decorating inside - if you don’t like painting don’t apply!!

    The final big project is the landscaping of the garden, which is where I need need most help as Dominic is now back in the UK for a few weeks so I’ve lost my muscle 😜...This should be lots of fun and very rewarding getting the sad smallish garden looking good...I’m wanting to do some xeriscaping....Lots of physical work outside in the fresh air and glorious (hot!) Spanish sun!

    I live 30 minutes from the coast at Motril, 45 minutes from Granada and 90 minutes from Sierra Nevada's skiing resort. My village is 4km from the busy town of Orgiva with many shops and a busy market on Thursday mornings. Orgiva is where the nearest shops/bars/restaurants can be found - I go regularly and would offer a lift when I do or it is only about 45 mins' walk and usually people will stop and give you a lift!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an English woman finishing a house and garden renovation project which should be fun landscaping and making the garden beautiful! I speak a little Spanish but we are in a lovely typically Spanish rural area with plenty of locals to practice your Spanish! I may well continue to work after you have finished your five hours, often working in the house where you will be staying.
    You will be able to experience a typical southern Spanish market town in Orgiva which also has two Hippy communities and a Buddhist Monastery, so a very eclectic mix of inhabitants.
    I encourage workawayers to use their spare time to explore this wonderful region and I will happily drive you to Orgiva to catch the bus on your days off so you can have days out to the local beaches, the Pueblos Blancos and the city of Granada with the world heritage site The Alhambra Palace and many other cultural treasures.
    There are masses of walks/hikes around the area and spectacular horse-riding in the Sierra Nevada.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for a strong, fit and please ‘clean living’ (definitely no drugs at all, I am a reformed smoker so would prefer no smoking!) COUPLE who can help with landscaping the garden and general maintenance of my village house in southern Spain. I would likea minimum of five hours per day for five days per week in return for accommodation and meals. I have a nice clean and tidy pretty double bedroom and bathroom with bath for your stay - this is why I need a couple only please!

    As a fifty-something woman, I am fairly fit but I am looking for help with the heavy, physical side of the landscaping!

    The work entails helping with gardening/landscaping such as digging and planting large plants, moving heavy specimen trees around in pots combined with light property refurbishment such as repainting, inside and out. Other jobs include maintaining the pool, tree pruning, strimming and sometimes help looking after Macarena, my donkey, feeding and mucking out! No experience with donkeys necessary I can teach you! Basically looking for people who will muck in with a smile and help with anything thrown at them! The landscaping will be hard physical work, the general maintenance, less so. Enthusiastic, fit/strong, hard workers, with NO ALLERGIES please to animals or dust and pollen....Carpentry experience would be very helpful but at the very least knowing how to use a drill and be practical with some experience of manual work like gardening and painting.

    Please bring suitable clothing and footwear for painting and gardening - I will supply gardening gloves and safety goggles if/when needed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation is in the main house and you will have a double bedroom with a double bed, with en suite bathroom and use of the kitchen. You have use of the swimming pool which you can help keep clean! My accommodation is separate but next door. The house in which you will be staying is the house that is being refurbished (don’t worry it is very civilised it’s only a freshen up with paint inside!) and I may within reason continue the work in the house when you are not working, so it is not completely private to you as I will be coming and going all day and I will also use the pool! I am quite social so we may have friends round for dinner or drinks which I hope you will join in! Your bedroom and bathroom are obviously private to you. When friends visit, we use the terrace by the front door to the house which is also next to the pool. I will provide ingredients for breakfast which you will prepare yourselves. I will provide lunch and dinner on the days you are working but you will probably want to prepare your own food on your days off! You may be off exploring anyway!

    I am getting the house clean and ready for retreats and holiday let’s so I’m very sorry but please no frying up smelly foods like onions, garlic, curries bleugh which will stink the house out! Not nice as we are decorating to get it smelling fresh and lovely for customers! 🙏🏻😁

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a wonderful area full of natural beauty, made famous internationally by Chris Stewart (who is a neighbour a few miles away) in his best-selling book, Driving Over Lemons.
    This is a part of Spain that the Spanish come to on their holidays; it is famous for its breathtaking rugged scenery and hidden valleys.
    There are many different communities living in Orgiva and it has a truly multi-cultural feel to it. Orgiva itself is a very Spanish town, with most of the locals not speaking English, but with many nationalities present.
    You would have to be relatively independent and there is masses to do in the area. You can grab your walking boots and go off exploring the wonderful region. Keen hikers, photographers, bird-watchers will all love the area!
    There is a good, reliable bus service to Granada, the coast with its lovely beaches and to neighbouring villages which are well worth a visit. Mulhacen, the highest peak on the Iberian Peninsula is nearby and can be walked up.
    There are two Hippy communities and a Buddhist monastery close to Orgiva.
    There is a very easy-going culture in the local town. The way of life in the town could be described as 'alternative' with wonderful artisan produce grown locally and a very 'arty' vibe. Lots of artists and musicians gravitate to this area.
    The very Spanish locals can be found intermingling with expats from many countries, Hippies and eco-warriors from a variety of European cultures, making Orgiva a very international and colourful community.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week


















Host ref number: 184567566227