Help with childcare, gardening and restorations in beautiful Rathclare House, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated   Last minute

Favourited 108 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young couple, with a one year old daughter, Imogen. We live in a beautiful historic house on the outskirts of Buttevant Town with ten acres of grounds to include a cottage which we are currently renovating.

    My husband is a businessman and I am an Artist. We are active and sociable, we like head to the beach or for hikes every weekend and each evening we like to sit down and chat over good food. Our house is a five minute walk to Buttevant town with a hourly bus connection to Cork and Limerick city, making it easy to connect all over Ireland. There are bikes here should you like to cycle to the Georgian town of Doneraile, one of the most beautiful parks in Ireland.

    We love hearing from people with
    a genuine love for children, people with carpentry skills or a knowledge of building work/gardening and perhaps someone with sewing seamstress skills to make some curtains! Over 21 would suit best but we are open to younger workawayers that are mature, hardworking and self motivated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an Artist. I paint portraits, still lifes and plein air painting and you would be most welcome to join me in my studio as I love teaching art. Also you might like to sit for a portrait.

    This would be a wonderful experience to develop your English as we are both friendly and love conversation.

    The grounds are extensive but beautiful to work in. We are doing up a old cottage for let, this is an exciting project where you would learn renovation skills.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help for five hours, 5 days a week

    Outdoor help, This would include chopping wood, weeding, cutting branches, painting the fence, painting the gates and entrance and mowing the lawn. Lots to be done!

    Building: My husband is renovating an 18th century cottage on the grounds which we would like help with. Carpentry skills would be useful but not necessary, lots to do in terms of plastering, paint stripping etc.

    Childminding: Imogen loves playing with her toys and crawling all over the house. I am very interested in workawayers who love children.

    We would like you to be part of the family while you are here, join us for meals, trips out and do your share of the housework and take a turn cooking/clearing up.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double room, bathroom is off the hall but will be for workawayers use only. Breakfast and lunch, you fend for yourself, I always have lots of cereal, eggs, cheeses, fruits and homemade bread in the house. We take turns cooking dinner at seven each evening and we sit down to eat as a group. We eat meat but try to eat vegetarian twice a week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You would be most welcome to join us on hikes and daytrips, Ireland is so beautiful and we love exploring at the weekend. As we are so close to public transport, on your days off it would be a lovely opportunity to discover Ireland yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 183515881731