Lovely property and farm near Castlemaine, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a large property in Chewton with an enviro house and orchard and garden designed on permaculture principles. Chewton is a little village with a shop/cafe, post office and a hotel. It is very close to Castlemaine which is a great alternative town with many cafes, markets and creative events happening. There is a regular train from Melbourne to Castlemaine and this goes onto Bendigo then Swan Hill. There is an airport bus that takes you from Melbourne airport and drops you at the Chewton shop, which is 700 metres from our house. We are a diverse group of people from 28 to 88, we mainly eat organic vegetarian, but also eat ethical meat when we source it. We all have our own houses but help each other out. We also have a farm that is 10 minutes away from the main property. The farm has chickens, milking goats and alpacas. Both properties have dogs and cats. You could stay in the spare room in the main house, sharing with 28 year old Tanika, or if you wanted to have a rustic adventure, we have a little caravan perched on a hill at the farm - simple, quiet and isolated with wonderful views to the bush and kangaroos as neighbours. We are looking for someone who has basic skills in; or a willingness to learn gardening, simple house maintenance, milking goats, making cheese, carting hay or cooking. An ability to speak Estonian or German is not necessary, but an added bonus for us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Meet some of the many diverse people in the Castlemaine area. Learn how to milk goats and make cheese and soap.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with weeding the garden, light maintenance around the house, staining windows and decks. Or a meal to cook. On the farm there are many jobs if you are interested. I would expect 3 to 4 hours a day but am flexible. We mainly eat organic vegetarian food and sometimes fish and ethical meat.
    My elderly father lives in the property and he speaks Estonian and basic German, so if you could talk to him in either language, that will be wonderful for him.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic German and beginner's French, beginner's Estonian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bedroom in the main house or a caravan on the farm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many wonderful things to do around Castlemaine - it is a creative arts based alternative town

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day (max 25 hours/week)



Host ref number: 183381966483