updated  

Enjoy the countryside life in your own flat in our house, between Leipzig and Jena

  • Favourited 38 times
  • Last activity: 14 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workawayers!
    Me (36) and my boyfriend David (41) moved from Leipzig to a small village in the countryside in march 2023. Our home has a big garden where we want to grow veggies and build some nice spots like a hammock area; a willow dome etc. There's already a Sauna, a place for bonfire and lots of space to hang out.
    Our village is is surrounded by forest, meadows and walking/bike trails. So there are plenty of nice outdoor activities that you can enjoy here around. You can borrow also our bikes. There are 2 rivers for canoing and big lakes not so far away. It's really calm out here and not so much happening, so you should like tranquility and nature.
    Leipzig and Jena are the next bigger towns and are worth a visit. Public transport is not so great out here, but there's a bus twice a day to the next train station, Zeitz or we can give you a lift.
    We have plenty of space at the moment, so you could have your own flat (60qm) in our house.
    About us:
    David works as a paragliding instructor and at our home projects. I
    work in environmental education and an Art Project for Kids in Leipzig. Before I used to work as a german teacher. So I can answer you all your questions about crazy german grammar ;=) We are easy going people; we like interesting conversation with open- minded people; outdoor activities (hiking, paragliding, canoing); electronic music festivals such as fusion festival and the burner culture; subculture & arts; doing DIY & creative things; watching movies in winter; Sauna & bonfire; natural gardening/permaculture; all kinds of food preservation.... And above all: travelling ;) We have seen quite a lot from this beautiful world and now that we are a bit more settled we like to invite people to us to stay connected to the travel spirit.
    We are curious to meet you!
    Please note: We can't send you an invitation letter! You would have to organise your Visa on your own.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are open-minded people and we have been travelling a lot. We often did volunteering works and cousurfing and always appreciated the cultural exchange with locals and learning new things. We would like to give this experiences back and share what we know and how we live with you. We like to talk about our hobbies; politics; festivals & subculture scenes; sharing travelling destinations & experiences... We can share our gardening skills and teach you how to preserve food, depending on the season. We can collect wild plants and mushrooms together. If we have time we can show you around in Leipzig and places nearby. We can give you advices for your further travel in germany and connect you with people.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to have some support with garden & building projects. Depending on what you are able to do; which are our current projects and how the weather is.
    Some projetcs for this year are: cutting grass (regularly), cutting some small/ old trees and bushes, creating new veggie beds and natural hedges, smashing some walls, starting to insulate the walls. Also some help with cleaning in the house would be nice (windows; floor).
    If you have some skills with building it's nice, but you don't need particular knowledge to join us. We will see what fits for everbody the best. It would be nice if you can help 4-5 hours a day for 5 days a week. Normally we start in the morning around 8/8.30 so you will have the afternoon/evening free, but we are also flexible. We can eat together sometimes, we cook vegetarian (sometimes fish) & glutenfree . We can also cook vegan or take care about other dietary needs. The other meals you can prepare in your flat, there's a kitchen. We buy all the food for you. You can stay 1-2 weeks or maybe also longer, if everybody of us feels comfortable.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner
    Norwegian: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to speak french and spanish againg

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have plenty of space in our big house. You can have your own flat with 2 rooms+ bathroom and a small kitchen. Furthermore we have 4 more private rooms in the house, with shared kitchen & bathroom. Depending on who is coming (couples; families; singles) we will sort out what fits best. The house is old and the rooms are not super new modern renovated. But it's cosy and clean and a bit vintage ;) It's also possible to visit our place with your campervans and stay next to our garden. We have extra toilets outside that can be used. We have no pets. As I am a bit allergic we would prefer not to host people with dogs, cats or camels ;=) And we would ask you to clean the flat at the end of your stay so that it's nice and cosy for the next guest.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our village is is surrounded by forest, meadows and walking/bike trails. So there are plenty of nice outdoor activities that you can enjoy here around. There is also a river for canoing and big lakes not too far away. In our place you can play table tennis and table soccer. You can enjoy the garden and in the cold season normally once a week me make bonfire & Sauna with friends. Leipzig and Jena are the next bigger towns and are worth a visit. To reach the cities we can bring/catch you from the bus in the neighbour village or borrow a bike to reach the next train station (Wetterzeube or Zeitz). As I work in Leipzig once a week I could also give you a lift sometimes. Please note that we live quite far out, so it takes some time to reach the cities. In our village it's calm and not much happening. We like to spend time with our workawayers, but as we both are also busy with working and sometimes need to rest after work you should also enjoy spending time on your own :=)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fast WiFi and enough rooms where ist's calm to work

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for big or small campervans next to our Garden and Toilette in our outside building

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 849436111871

Feedback



Join our family for a farm adventure in Northern Germany
Looking for gardening help and to restore our old farm house in Brandenburg, Germany