1 / 5
updated  

Help us restore the waterfront for local wildlife and enjoy life on Vancouver Island, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 77 times
  • Last activity: 17 Nov 2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We live in a shared house beside the ocean on 1/2 acre of land. I am an avid traveller and enjoy meeting people from all cultures. We really need some help to improve and maintain our half acre yard, continue our waterfront restoration project and declutter the garage and basement storage areas.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have travelled to several countries and always enjoy the opportunity to meet people from around the world whether they are visiting us here on Vancouver Island or I am visiting their country.

    I live in a shared house where some of the other residents are often from other countries around the world making the house an interesting mix of different cultures and experiences.

    As a Work Away host I am happy to share travel stories, practice English with you (I am certified to teach English as a foreign language).

    I will share information about our waterfront restoration project and why we are doing what we are doing. We are following the recommendations of a local watershed group to get rid of invasive plants and replace them with native species.

    I am also happy to take you to my favorite kayaking spots and include you in family functions when my grandchildren visit. I have lived on the coast of BC most of my life and can share local knowledge about many activities and places.

  • Help

    Help

    In the summer (and good weather), we need someone physically fit who is able to help us with our waterfront restoration project and general yard and garden work such as weeding, digging etc.

    In the past our waterfront has been overgrown with invasive plants. With the guidance of the local environmental agency, and with the help of many work-a-wayers we are working toward restoring our waterfront area to include only native plants and ones that will support the birds, bees, insects and sea life in the area. This involves manually removing invasive plants, (you know the ones with really strong roots that grow everywhere) and creating healthy habitat by planting native species.

    In the winter (and bad weather) I need someone to help me with home maintenance and decluttering our garage and basement storage area.

    I am 69 and it is difficult for me to do the physical work involved in maintaining our home and property.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest room in basement of house. Two work-a-wayers may be sharing the room. Breakfast and lunch are self catered in shared kitchen. Dinner is prepared and enjoyed together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on Vancouver Island so we are surrounded by water as well as forests and lakes. Kayaking, bicycling, hiking, and there is a ski mountain nearby. People are often able to go skiing and kayaking in the same day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Host ref number: 111152816267

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Help our family with some DIY projects in Banff, AB, Canada
Offgrid, minimalist living, help with eco and renovation projects on land coop outside Nelson, Canada