Come and experience the Kiwi farming lifestyle at the foot of Mount Taranaki, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Come and experience the kiwi farming lifestyle. The farms run by a kiwi Irish couple. Accommodation available and every day farming chores milking 400 cows. With the cows only weeks away from calving there's a great opportunity to enjoy Spring life down on the farm.(end of July). But we also take backpackers all year long.. Only 2 minutes away from the nearest town and on the footsteps of mt Taranaki where you can ski and snowboard or 25 minutes away from the nearest city New Plymouth where you can surf.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    if you enjoy helping with animals being out in the fresh air on a daily basis, and are willing to learn how a Nz dairy farm operates then we are willing to host you. Plenty to do and see in your time off. We are eager to learn about other cultures while sitting around the dinner table enjoying good traditional kiwi and Irish meals. You will learn the kiwi way by the time you leave.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help


    We take backpackers all year round, long and extended stays,as well as for short term stays. Could be a paid position for the right person. this will include farm chores from milking cows, feeding out, feeding calves, chickens, and two boarder collie dogs(max, Millie)-who still need some training, but super friendly and great pets! Tractor and bike work, and anything else that falls under general farm maintenance. We two young farm/motor bike/rugby mad boys aged 10 and 8 that needs someone with plenty of energy to keep up with them both, but they look after themselves or are on farm help out,

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Four bedroom house with two other full time workers( both German girls 28 & 25, or a self contained cabin with large decking, everything supplied… meals and anything else are at our place, right next door

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mountain only minutes away, or chose one of many local surf spots along the famous surf highway 45. Lakes, rivers, hunting & fishing, bush walks and shopping.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 786519878378

Feedback (6)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with gardening and household tasks while learning permaculture principles in Whangarei, New Zealand
We would love help with Gardening, creating a pond for our ducks and some painting, in Te Awamutu, New Zealand