Visit our lush urban sanctuary in Cutler bay, Florida, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 81 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there we are a "young"semi retired couple-looking for someone to help out around our beautiful quiet lush property which we have been slowly evolving (past 3 years)into an edible urban sanctuary. We would like about 20hrs per week (flexible on days/ times, but generally 5 hrs Mon- Fri 8am-1pm) of help, in return for full board (private bedroom and private full bathroom)

    We would provide meals and we have an open kitchen policy so whatever we grow or have available we would share (any special dietary requirements would generally be handled by you).  You are welcome to join us (preferred) or prepare your own (bonus if you can cook traditional plates from your country). It's not a very busy time at the moment but we'd appreciate some help catching up on gardening and help with weeding, planting, raking leaves, cleaning the newer raised beds. Also you can assist us with our worm compost setup (we can also teach you the fundamentals if you would like to learn). Your stay can be from a few days to a few weeks (prefer a minimum of 7 days, but not required).   There will be days when you have the place to yourself as we also work elsewhere (we are both consultants from our our respective fields). You have access to kayaks, bikes, laundry room, pool, private sun deck, and perhaps some weekend traveling/sightseeing around Florida, time permitting with us-no guarantees though.

    We are NOT looking to be a last resort because you have nowhere else to go or other options fell through, and we do not want guests that remain in their room 24/7, we are interested in cultural exchange and do look forward to evening learning of each other and your country/travels-SO PLEASE keep this in mind when you contact me.When you first contact us it is very helpful to tell us what date you would like to arrive and leave. It helps us to coordinate things so as many people as possible get to experience what there is to offer here in our little slice of heaven (we are in another similar site to this one).
    Any other information you require please ask away. 

    We will share personal contact info if you desire once initial contact is established through Workaway (sorry too much spam on these types of sites)  We currently DO NOT have any social media sites, but may start in the future (can use help with that as well, in fact, any computer knowledge is always helpful and appreciated)

    WorkAway'ers with experience in farming, gardening, handiwork, cleaning, and computers will take precedence over those with no experience.   We like sustainable ecoliving and always strive towards it, we hope to be offgrid by 2025, we are into healthy organic cooking, healing arts-essential oils, reiki, massage therapy, yoga, meditation...and are always open and welcome to new experiences in these areas.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are centrally located in Miami Cutler Bay-and close to everything, while still away from the big city.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly gardening, some light handywoman/man help, cleaning/organizing and computer help
    Monday-Friday usually about 8am to 1pm

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are both fluent in Spanish and English and will gladly share a learning experience together. Aside from learning some new language we have over 10 years living in our beautiful area and will share showing helpers our local areas as we are close to many parks and beaches. We truly enjoy meeting new people, as we backpacked most of Europe in the '80s and stayed with more than a few great hosts we met while traveling. So stories adventures and tips are always welcome. It would be great if you can cook a traditional meal from your country, and we would also enjoy sharing ours with you as well.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom and private bathroom. Your room has internet, but no TV. Plenty of storage as well as a walk-in closet, that is mostly empty.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although public transportation is not too great. We are literally 100 feet from Old Cutler Road, and public buses do pass by periodically. There is always Uber or Lyft as well. When visitors say Miami, beaches come to mind, but there is so much more, being locals and very engaged with our community we can recommend many events, and places off the beaten path, that really will leave an everlasting memory of "the other Miami" We are also close to the pristine Florida Keys and often do travel there for a change of scenery, a very cool public bus does shuttles to and from so don't forget to ask me about it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have great WiFi on the entire property and you can be outside sunning while still enjoying the internet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 183272365764