Family farm with horses, sheep, and holiday accommodation in the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 181 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a small family farm in Pembrokeshire, Wales. We have a small flock of commercial sheep, forty horses and ponies. Our latest venture has been to build and offer farm stay accommodation in two self contained flats.There is still some grounds work to do and some more development to enhance the immediate surroundings. We also need help with the daily running of everything here!
    We really enjoy meeting international youngsters ( and the not so young) who are invited to become part of our family and who are willing to have a go at the many daily tasks we find to do......Many hands make light work!
    For your help we offer a friendly home, plenty of practise of spoken English and if you want a chance to ride or help in the stables you are welcome, comfortable living either in the house or the staff flat and good home cooked food.
    We live 2 miles from the main town. There is a local shop about 1 mile away and there are two local pubs.
    We are close to the sea and there is an internationally recognised surfing beach just ten minutes from the farm.
    We enjoy music and Eric has his own music studio that he is setting up..He plays in a local band. There is daily access to our pianos! My son and his wife live locally and Simon has a speed boat racing team "51 racing" my eldest son lives independently in his own flat on the farm and Eric;s mother also lives in a cottage here. We all share the daily running of the Farm. We have lived here for over 36 years and Eric's family has been here for over 100 years!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a rural area that is steeped in history. We have a young staff who work permanently with us their ages range from 21 to 37 yo. I am a teacher by profession and am qualified to teach English as a foreign language, I am also a keen fisherman...my husband is a farmer and is also a skilled musician, he plays keyboard in a band....so we have varied interests and happily share with our visitors. We have 30 horses, we will be happy to help you with your riding skills we have a hydrotherapy pool on site with a sauna you can use when it is not busy. We live 3.5 miles away from a top surfing beach and 2 miles away from our local town of Pembroke.

  • Help

    Help

    General help, tasks to do with the upkeep of the farm, housework to help in the garden, the stables , painting, mowing anything a member of the family would do. Perhaps cook a meal? Help us with the computer!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    minimal french and german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a staff flat next to our farmhouse that is shared with one other person alternatively we have a bedroom within the house if the staff flat is occupied.. We all share the TV room which does have many channels and we share the kitchen as any family would....We especially like the person joining us to feel they are part of the family. We are a very strong no smoking household and we enjoy an occasional drink but not to excess! We do not have any animals in the house! We have 6 cats who all live on the stable yard and various sheep.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We all take a Sunday off for rest and recreation this can be put together with either a Saturday or a Monday to give helpers two days to explore the area....we are quite flexible with timings of time off. Every day there are cars going into to the local town so there is always a lift available. We are currently sourcing a bicycle that can be used on your days off should you wish to spend time in our rural countryside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 181818986475