Help with gardening, plant care and cultivation and more at the foothills of Billen Cliffs, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our property is situated at the foothills of the Billen Cliffs at beautiful Larnook, 30kms north west of Lismore and 20 mins away from Kyogle and Nimbin.

    We can pick up from Lismore, Kyogle, Nimbin and Ballina, depending on times and day of the week.

    Kevin has a passion for reptiles and we keep a few animals including a woma python called Kimba, pygmy monitors and blue tongues.

    Wildlife on the property includes lots of birds, wallabies, water dragons, pythons, turtles, bandicoots, and we have recently seen a platypus in our creek.

    Kevin is Professor of Tourism at Southern Cross University and he likes bushwalking so we can usually organise a bush walk into your experience provided there is time.

    Anyway drop us a line if you are interested and we can take it from there.

    We usually take on helpers for 7-10 days. Sometimes, if there is a strong connection between us and the Helper, the stay can be extended.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are well travelled and love sharing travel stores with helpers. Kevin knows a lot about nature and wildlife and is always keen to share his knowledge. We have lived on our property for 12 years and so also have lots of local knowledge as well as our experiences developing our gardens and doing some bush regeneration.

  • Help

    Help

    We (Kev and Steve - we are a gay couple) have all kinds of work including weeding, mulching, watering plants, weed removal, creek revegetation, painting and planting.

    We usually expect around 4 hours per day of work in exchange for all meals, your own room, access to internet (for checking emails, looking at websites, Skpe, Netflix), TV, dvd collection etc. Accommodation is your own room with shower and toilet in our 5 bedroom house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom with queen bed, shower and toilet in our 5 bedroom house. All meals are included - we can do vegetarian. We love cooking and our food is healthy and tasty.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you have a vehicle then you can explore the local region. There are five national parks within 45 minutes of our place. If you don't, then you can explore the ares by foot; chill out and read on our daybed or hammock; watch movies. We don't have public transport close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days/week.

Host ref number: 177219411199