The incredible charms of the Wimmera & Grampians is a click away. Do you enjoy renovating? Building? Construction? Enjoy the outdoors & garden & great company in Victoria, Australia



Favourited 62 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    Hello from gorgeous Victoria, Australia.

    We have had the wonderful pleasure of having the experience of Workaway visitors in our home & thoroughly enjoy the exchange of cultures & making new friends.

    My daughter has just purchased a gorgeous old house, that we are renovating in the main street of our town & I also have an old house, with plenty of jobs to keep anyone busy - there is gardening, painting & building work if you have the skills, a variety of tasks someone could help with if they like.

    We have plenty of space to park a van or stay in our little vintage van 'Tilly', cute & comfortable. We would love to meet & host people from around the globe in exchange for some help.

    I was diagnosed with MS (multiple sclerosis) & have difficulty with my hands, feet, strength & try to take it easy as much as I can, both my adult children work. I work nearby & have a mobile yoga studio, teaching across the region and currently work as a Program Leader for a specialist team of family support caseworkers & counsellors, also completing my masters at university.

    We enjoy being creative & spontaneous & often take trips. Two years ago, traveling throughout Europe, to the U.S. via Iceland & across the USA.

    A visit to our home is to be enjoyed & more a holiday than work, a sharing of skills, enjoyment of meeting new people & swapping of cultures, learn from each other.

    We are a non-smoking home & this would not suit a smoker.

    We also request no drug or substance use. We don't mind a wine or few drinks with great food & enjoy entertaining, we choose a reasonably healthy lifestyle & cook from scratch as much as possible.

    We usually pick from the garden, however we've just had a hot summer & it's looking a bit tired at present.

    If you can help out with any or all of the followings then drop us a line & let's start chatting;

    *️️️️️ Building - deck, repairs to walls (interior)
    *️️️ Construction of a cubby house
    *️️️️️ Plastering
    *️️️️️ Painting
    *️️️️️ Construction of an outside deck
    *️️️️️ Renovation of a shipping container
    *️️️️️ Gardening/landscaping
    *️️️ Walking the dogs

    We have just had a construction start on a new in ground pool, it will be ready in the next month (by October!), with a pool house/gym inside.

    We decided to post here as there are limited tradespeople in our local area & who are always busy & we have work that needs to be done!

    We can help with meals, accommodation & if you like getting out & seeing the area, everything is negotiable, we are very easy going & you only need speak up.

    I also visit an Ashram (not too far away), where they practice Karma Yoga, you are welcome to join in, experience Ashram life.

    We do have two dogs - so must love dogs! We have a Springer Spaniel & an Australian Heeler (cattle dog). The Heeler is still learning & outgrowing his hyperactivity, so he gets a bit cheeky & loves to play. There is often a 'fear' associated with Heelers as they are very boisterous. He is just cheeky, demands to play & needs firm instructions. Both follow commands & are inside/outside dogs.

    As a family, we have traveled all across Australia, including the entire coast, heading north & taking a long way home, so we have plenty of tips if you would like to further your interest in Australia. We are 1.5/2hrs from the Great Ocean Rd, in between Adelaide & Melbourne, great way to see rural Australia, experience small town country living without being too remotely isolated. We are the gateway to The Silo Art Trail, a 200km wide outdoor gallery & on the doorstep to the stunning Grampian mountain range.

    In 2019 it is very likely towards the mid-end of year we may travel overseas, so if you are also interested in house sitting, a yoga instructor, love dogs, we will be looking for a house sitter who might like to earn a little money taking my yoga classes (a car will be available to use).

    We are really looking for easygoing, with respect for others, honest/trustworthy & well mannered, this isn't more than a few hours or negotiable each day - it's having an extra set of hands to help, chat, enjoy meals, exchange cultures, grow, learn & discover more about people, culture & community.

    If this sounds like you we would love to hear from you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is located in the stunning Wimmera region of western Victoria, we are a Silo Art Community - our silos have been painted & there are many, more to see. The Wimmera has incredible views & opportunities; including the inspiring Grampians, 2 hrs from the Great Ocean Road, Melbourne a day trip & if you drive in the opposite direction, you come to the border of South Australia & only hours to Adelaide. If you love early Australian history there a number of opportunities for a day trip, including Ballarat, the birth of the Australian gold rush era.
    The Melbourne International Airport is 3hrs drive & we are more than happy to help you with travel to & from the airport or in your time off. We often travel interstate as well.
    We have traveled extensively throughout the world & have family & friends worldwide, including across Australia if you would like to share your skills & stay longer, experiencing more of our stunning country.
    We have a broad range of experiences & knowledge of our local & national history & contacts to travel further throughout Australia if you desire.

  • Help


    Renovating x 2, 90-year-old house in a small country town, walking distance to the main street & short drive to a major city; a beautiful well maintained early Australian home, the original doctor's residence & practice or helping out at the new store/old house. A few minor plastering repairs to walls, some painting & if you have some building skills just perfect! We would love to put on a deck at the rear & can always do with help with the kitchen & bathroom as we bring life back into this gorgeous home. I also have a garden in the planning & development stage & always keen for a creative, hardworking, passionate helper.

    Everything is negotiable.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French, a little German, a little Spanish - has been a while - could do with the practice

  • Accommodation


    We have a cute vintage van called 'Tilly' we take on holidays & use for a business, 2 comfy beds. Separate bathroom/toilet, comfortable & quaint. You are welcome to eat with us & be part of our family or enjoy your own space. You could park your own van or pitch a tent or sleep in Tilly, eat meals with us or purchase your own, however, we have a vegan diet.

    Our home backs onto the Australian bush, with beautiful sunrises each morning, natural landscape & sounds of native wildlife There are several opportunities for hiking throughout the Grampians, a major tourist destination.

    We could also help with shorter accommodation if you would prefer to stay elsewhere. Summers are very warm, winters cool, Victoria has a snow season although it falls in the Grampians we have no snow in our community.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Whilst public transport is limited in our local town, it is a major highway through to Mildura & the outback. The city of Horsham is 25 minutes drive & we drive there a few times per week. We also enjoy eating out, spending our weekends in the outdoors & you are more than welcome to join us.

    Please let us know ahead of time of any dietary requirements & more than happy to accommodate. We are vegan, vegetarian, we appreciate difference & would love you to share your own culture & experiences with us as well.

    Our family values are based on 3 rules - 1. respect for yourself, 2. respect for others & 3. responsibility for your actions. We speak with respect & foster patience.
    Our dogs are part of our family.

    You must like dogs & animals & enjoy the outdoors as we live on the doorstep of the bush.

    We would like you to care for your accommodation with respect & keep tidy, feel free to use the washing machine & utilities. We have unlimited wifi via the NBN service.

    We are a very flexible easy-going family who is kind to others. I have a Thermomix & we cook from scratch as much as possible, with fresh vegetables straight from the garden. I always appreciate help in the kitchen or if you like to cook you are more than welcome to share a glass of wine & chat & explore my kitchen!

    I am also a yoga teacher & meditate, hopefully, you can join in as you would like, including morning walks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3 days a week

Host ref number: 175928657749