Water Access Oyster Farm and Other Properties on Beautiful Sunshine Coast looking for some help, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 156 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    513

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five (Mum-Valerie, Dad - Peter, Kids - Maggie and Molly, and Dog - Maisy) who have the great fortune to live on the Sunshine Coast of BC and are owners of a working Oyster Farm located in Sechelt Inlet Marine Park as well as a beautiful home overlooking the inlet in Sandy Hook.

    The farm is water access only (we have a classic wooden boat that gets us there in 15 minutes), with a cabin perched over the water. It's rustic but has everything you need to be comfortable. We have canoes and fishing rods, several trails on the property.

    The farm is surrounded by Mt. Richardson Provincial Park (boundary runs around us) located at the base of the mountain within a protected cove. Lots of bird life and sea life. We need 2 to 4 people to help maintain the site, mostly heavy duty yard work such as clearing invasive weeds, helping repair oyster rafts, fixing one of the decks, cleaning the cabins.

    We also just purchased a house in Sandy Hook that we are in the process of renovating and landscaping - so people could help at both sites, depending on the time of year. Most recently we have had our workways help with the reno and then visit the farm on their days off.

    We were the initial operators of a local resort (also featured on this site) and the first few reviews were from our workaways. So this isn't our first rodeo - we love the Workaway program and are looking forward to sharing our amazing part of the world with some new people :) Looking for people to stay with us for one to two weeks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about oyster farming as a traditional form of aquaculture as well as how to live off grid (solar and propone). The Sunshine Coast hasn't been spoiled by too much tourism and there are so many places to explore.

  • Help

    Help

    Oyster Farm: Heavy duty yard work, clearing overgrown bush, repairing rafts and deck. Cleaning the cabins, maybe putting a new lick of paint in some places. You would be working with Peter most of the time.
    Reno Project: Demo, yard work, helping with construction.
    Oh and Maisy is always up for a good walk!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English only unfortunately

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large cabin with a full kitchen and shower area with a composting toilet and a second smaller cabin. Workways can have this cabin most of the time. If we (Valerie and kids) visit there is a second smaller cabin that is available. But mostly you would have the place to yourselves.
    In Sandy Hook we have a 19ft travel trailer that a single or couple could stay in. Comfortable and lot of privacy. When you are in Sandy Hook you'd eat with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When you are not working and at the farm you can canoe, fish, swim, explore the property, watch movies (we have a small TV and lots of movies to choose from), read, relax. During days off you can stay in at our house or Porpoise Bay provincial park (we can lend you camping equipment) and there is a ton of things to do on the Sunshine Coast. We just bought a beautiful classic wooden boat that we use to get to the farm - it sleeps 3 people.

    Several lovely small towns to explore, great hiking, mountain biking and down hill at Coast Gravity Park. You would have the option of staying with us on your days off or doing your own thing. Our house would be available for you to do laundry and you will be welcome to join us for meals. There is no transportation into town so we would give or organize rides for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Chicken coop back at the house.
Breakfast at the Oyster Farm, only two of the girls are ours!
View from our house, changes with the weather and time of day - always beautiful
Our oldest daughter Maggie exploring the shoreline
View of Sechelt. Our water taxi is moored in the marina in this photo which is right in front of the local pub :)
Crazy Maisy our 2 year old golden retriever!
Deck of the main cabin, a great spot to relax
Oyster farm main cabin located at the base of Mt. Richardson
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 668668773537