Goat Farm regenerating a native Forest in Porto , Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 307 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A small family, boer goat farm seeking help to manage a small herd of 100 animals. We offer a humble farm life experience but you must be physically cpable of doing farm labor. Animals must be fed 365 days per year, even in the rain !

    ABOUT US - We immigrated to Portugal in Feb 2019 after living in Thailand for 3 years. Anthony is American with a background in construction and diplomatic security. I have worked with farmers all over the world including Afghanistan, Kenya, Rwanda, and S.E. Asia. In Thailand, i design and finance sustainable crops like rice and indigenous forests. The core dream of our Farm is REGENERATION. The farm is SUPER ethical but not yet BIO (Organic) certified. IN 2020, I would also like to improve our social media and offer on-farm training classes for those interested in learning about climate smart farming practices, GHG emissions (Carbon verification) animal welfare and goats !

    THE WORK - The new farm is crazy. We are cleaning and fencing the land, cleaning the goat sheds, feeding goats hay and preparing for planting in September.

    SKILLS - We ONLY accept workaways with practical skills - Animal Care, Farm Work Fencing, Carpentry etc....

    LOCAL TRANSPORT - The farm has a mountain bike you are welcome to use to visit the local villages or go into the countryside. We live on the Douro river and there are lots of cafes and free swimming places. We we won't be able to live on the farm until August or September so drive on and off the farm daily. We are happy to help with laundry, grocery shopping and other trips.

    PAYMENT - We ONLY offer 5Euro/Hour with recorded hours- minimum wage.

    HOUSING - For workaways, we have set up a new caravan including a hot shower. You will live on the side of a mountain with trees, stunning views and a chilling plunge pool !

    DOGS - For those with dogs, we already have 4 dogs .... but we love dogs !!! Gold and Hannah work with the goats and are very CHEEKY 18 month old year old Estrela mountain dogs. Apollo (6) and Luna (4) immigrated with us and are also large mastiffs but very sweet. YOU REALLY NEED TO LOVE DOGS ! But with 4 dogs, we don't need more dogs on the farm so if you are travelling with one, we are not a good match.

    COUPLES - As a small family farm, there is not enough work to pay 2 people to work with goats.

    VEGANS - We are a MEAT producing farm. We love our animals but we do slaughter them. I understand this may be offensive to you but please do not apply. We will not change our lifestyle or business model.

    Rachel & Anthony

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Live in a beautiful place while learning about ethical livestock management, animal welfare, family farming, agriculture economics (business model), food safety and trade

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    MAXIMUM 20-25 hours per week of on-farm work
    Herding the goats
    Feeding hay
    Cleaning bedding
    Cleaning water feeders
    Refilling water feeders

    IF YOU HAVE BUILDING EXPERIENCE, PLEASE higlight these skills !

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A carvan with bed, storage, eco toilet, full equipped kitchen, gas cooker, small fridge and shower

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    WE live on the Douro river .. an amazing place for site seeing, nature and water activities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have 4 dogs so your animal needs to be incredibly well adjusted and passive.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20-25



Host ref number: 173453155649