Share travel stories and can help plan your next destination near Geraldton, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/07/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are located in the picturesque Chapman Valley situated approx 22 km north east from the Geraldton town centre or 436km from close to the coast. The closest shops are 15km from our house. Ideally you need to have your own car as this allows you freedom to travel around in the area.

    We have a wonderful climate here and amazing views. Not as cold as Perth!
    Ideally, we would like a minimum of a 3 day stay with us, longer if we mutually agree.
    Our property is set on 120 acres we have a friendly dog and 50 merino sheep.

    There is always something to do, but not the same each day.
    We ideally need help around the property with some projects in the garden, planning and planting some new garden beds, reticulation repairs, mowing of lawns, walking dog, painting, fencing.

    It is essential for your own safety that you understand English and speak English and are willing and able to follow instructions and to carry them out to the best of your ability.

    We need people who are reliable, self-motivated, enthusiastic and have a good sense of humor :)

    We don't ask anything of helpers that we wouldn't be prepared to do ourselves.

    We are not in a position to offer you any paid work. SORRY WE CANNOT SIGN OFF ON 2nd YEAR VISAS as our property does not qualify for this.

    We do not smoke, and do not allow smoking in the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy meeting people and sharing our own camping travels and can help with planning their next destination. When not working, we enjoy having BBQs, time on our boat in the summer months, going camping and visiting local beaches and sites.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    There is a variety to be done, depending on your skills. Help includes looking after the vegetable garden, Planting of plants/vegetables, Removing trees, branches, Mowing lawns on the tractor or mower/s, weeding, general maintenance, Painting, Assisting with cleaning, cooking if you want to share your skills, Walking the dog.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will live in the main house with the family. Single room or double room if a couple. Power can be provided if traveling in camper van or Caravan.
    We are a meat eater family, so vegetarians may not be catered for adequately.
    We expect you to keep your room, bathroom and toilet clean and clean when you leave
    We would like you to help with meal preparation when asked or cooking if you would like to and assist with the dishes/clearing the table after each meal where necessary and when required.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to Geraldton and only 436km from Perth! (Note the nearest shops are 15km away)
    There are cinemas, bars, restaurants, and lots of water activities to be utilized in Geraldton.
    There is some great tourist/camping locations from only 30 minutes away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 173421584799