Join our community in the mountains of Uvita, Costa Rica

  • Favourited 216 times
  • Last activity: 20 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a middle aged couple who started our dream project; a community with like minded people of all ages and nationalities. We imported Balinese houses and ran a boutique hotel for 8 years. COVID taught us we like to spend more time with people we actually get to know better than the guests who stayed for a few nights only. So we started to rent our houses long term. The best decision we could have made.

    In the meantime we started to improve our fruit forest and I make it my passion to plant as many verity as I can find. A lot of our fruit trees and herbs are already 6 years or older so we harvest a lot of fruit already. We just dug a fish pond where we are growing tilapias. We used no concrete or plastic so made it watertight like the indigenous people did for centuries; by stamping in the water to make mud come up and that mud closes the holes where the water escapes.

    Who wants to join us in the proces of growing herbs, trees, making pathways through the fruit forest and to our waterfall? It is very physical work in the heat. So not everybody is up to do this task. You will work together a lot with our gardener so speaking some words of Spanish helps.

    As it might be lonely for a sole person we prefer a couple or 2 friends. We prefer youngsters as from 30 years old onwards.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn about tropical plants and especially medicinal plants. They can practice their language skills and enjoy the most biodiverse country in the world. They can live a life of inspiration, make what your heart tells you.

  • Help

    Help

    We started our garden 8 years ago and we planted lots of fruit trees. I am also passionate about planting medicinal herbs and plants. Our goal is to be able to fully eat from the garden and could use your help.
    We even dug a huge natural pond and put 200 tilapias in there. Now after 3 months we have many baby tilapias too.

    One of our dreams is build a temazcal or sweat lodge in adobe, any inspiration? We would love your help with this project.

    In our warehouse we have a new and antique gazebo waiting to be build and that can be a project too. If you want to help here, a bit of knowledge of building would be a pre.

    You will cook your own meals in your own house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Balinese tiny house with your own kitchen, private shower, and a big outside space with an open fire.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can just relax, enjoy our beautiful views, play with our animals, go to our waterfall, go to the beach and learn how to surf. There are many places to explore and many tours to do around here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The house we have reserved for work away friends is our smallest house. The name of the house is casa Lucu (cute house in Bahasa Indonesia) Inside it is small but it has a great working spot with high speed internet in the outside covered area. The house is situated in the middle of a beautiful garden with total privacy.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 171929462365

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Help with our tourism and language project in Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Help on our permaculture farm in Costa Rica