Help out with our garden and animals near the beach in West Cork

Country

Ireland

Favourited 189 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2021

 
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for help with our animals and garden in a spectacular seaside location at the end of a remote peninsular. Maggie runs a small holding with lots of goats, sheep, ducks and chickens. She also keeps a few horses away from home.

    There is always lots of work to do looking after the animals who are fed mostly on recycled foods. The boys are at school but have their jobs to do at home everyday and both are interested in breeding rare poultry. They are keen do it your selfers and love fishing and potting for crab and lobster.

    This area is spectacularly scenic, we live right beside the beach and there is a lively tourist scene in the summer. There is some local music, fantastic walks and a couple of decent pubs. Anyone interested in history, geology or mythology will find plenty of interest here. There is however no public transport and the nearest town is approx 10 miles away.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Weeding, Mucking out animals, feeding animals, fencing, digging drains, housework, general clearing and tidying, hanging out with the boys, firewood, building projects, managing workaway & emails.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a lovely mobile home with stove, toilet and shower that is usually available or there are smaller more basic caravans and plenty of space to pitch a tent in the summer. .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 to 5 hours




Host ref number: 165177387457