Help creating a website near Barcelona, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 153 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Thanks for reading our profile.

    IMPORTANT UPDATES
    1- At the moment I need help developing a website. The website is in English so you need to know the language (not high level required). Read my profile to learn more about the details of this volunteering.

    We are a family of 2 people, Emilio (45) and me, Ana (37). We don.t have children. We own 2 cats, a black one called Mino, and a white one called Hodi. They are considered members of the family too.
    Emilio works in a warehouse despite the fact that he has a degree in Geography. If you are interested in history and you can speak Spanish, he is the perfect person to meet. He also collects coins from all over the world and can teach a lot about that. He says he likes meeting people but I realised he didn't speak much with other volunteers we had, so just count on me (Ana) or my friends as the only persons to get along with during your stay.

    I am a private English teacher and I work in one-to-one classes with children and teenagers in the evenings. I really love the job and I would like to show you how it works if you come to volunteer with us! If you like the outdoors, we'll probably be a match. I can take you to beautiful beaches or walking in the mountains, but don't expect me to take you for bungee jumping! I love reading and I can talk about books for hours.

    We live in a flat 65 square metres in a town next to Barcelona (5 km far). The town is called La Llagosta and you can easily get to the city centre by train in 15-20 minutes. Our town is really great because it is quiet but it has all necessary things near you. It is a lot cheaper than living in Barcelona, but it is not a beautiful place (just buildings).

    Our place is convenient if you are looking forward exploring Barcelona but having a quiet place to rest after with REAL locals. Also it.s good if you don.t expect hard work because we don.t have kids, garden, a big house, hostels, farms, big animals, and all that things that take a lot of extra time. Our home is also convenient for people who can work individually and don't expect a lot of company, because most of the time you'll be on your own.

    The stay I am offering is for 1 WEEK ONLY

    You as a volunteer will be kindly invited to my daily life, and also to join during activities at the weekend if you feel like it. PLEASE if you want to do things together with me, let me know. Normally I won't ask you because I don't want that you feel obligued to come if I ask first. Of course you can do your own thing if you wish, but I would like to share cultures and experiences at least. In other words, make you feel like in your own family.
    If you are the kind of volunteer who is only looking for a free roof and food and to remain closed inside your bedroom all your free time, maybe we won't be the perfect match.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a catalan couple (both born in Barcelona), but our families are originary from different parts of Spain. We grew up with different cultural backgrounds, the one the learnt from our parents and the one we were taught at school. We offer you a cultural exchange in which you can learn about spanish and catalan culture at the same time.
    We can explain both spanish and catalan history and customs. We know our region well and can show you places or recommend visits.
    We will cook typical spanish and catalan food for you too if you are brave enough to taste anything.

  • Help

    Help

    THE WORK:
    I am doing an intersphip about teaching and one of my tasks is to keep a website / blog updated with all my insights and learning process as well as the activities I'm doing.
    The website needs to look great but I'm not really a "tech person", so what I mostly need is someone who can "make it more attractive". I think there are many improvements that can be done as I paid for the suscription and I have more options than in the "free" option.

    The site is already created (wordpress), but with so basic stuff. I need somebody who can renovate it and put things in the correct place as well as help me uploading more photos, videos, etc. I really can do that but I won't get a very good mark if it looks like it's now and also it takes me forever because it's the first time I'm doing this kind of work.


    Please, when you contact us specify:
    -the skills you can offer.
    -your experience.
    -how would you fit in our family life (do you come to barcelona for pleasure/ studies/ gap year?)
    -things you would like from us, like learning spanish, hang aroung, drive you to places, etc.
    -why you are interested in this volunteering.

    ALSO:I need to find information about you in your profile, the more you explain about you, the better.

    The perfect volunteers for us should be people who:

    -like meeting others but can do their own thing thing too.
    -like exploring the outdoors and don.t stay at home all the time when they are free.
    -are able to do smth together with me..
    -are reliable, punctual and serious with the tasks.
    -behave as we were a family and contributes with house chores equally.
    -don't expect to be paid with money.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english and spanish and catalan

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom and your privacy. The bedroom is big and the bed is 1.15 wide. The wardrobe has free space you can use. We only have a bathroom at home so we.ll have to share it. You.ll have access to wifi. There is a room with desks in case you need to work or study.
    We provide linen, blankets, pillow, towels and slippers (if they are your number).
    We live in a 7th floor and there are 2 lifts in the building.
    You won't need to wake up early.

    IMPORTANT:
    -We provide accommodation + 3 meals the days YOU VOLUNTEER with us. Please note, we have an schedule for meals that you need to follow if you want to be fed at home. If you skip a meal, you'll have to wait to the next one.
    -We offer accommodation + breakfast the days you don.t work. That means that you.ll have to provide your own food for lunch and dinner on saturdays and sundays (or any other day we agreed you are off).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Further info:
    -we accept volunteers with dietary requirements related with allergies or health issues only.
    -we cook good hot meals and give a variety of things. Our timetables are: breakfast starts 8:30 am - (when you get up), lunch 1:30-2:30 pm and dinner from 9:30 pm on.
    -the payment of the transports you need to take is not included in our agreement and neither is the extra food you buy if you want to eat further (not at meal times).
    IMPORTANT: If you prove to be a reliable worker, you will get a free 10 trip ticket to travel to Barcelona.

    How to get from the airport to our house:
    In the airport find the train station and take the line R2 direction Granollers or Sant Celoni. In 45 minutes you.ll arrive to La Llagosta and we.ll pick you at the station there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Mino
Emilio
Places that tourists miss from barcelona.
Study
My collection of books of "The little prince" in many different languages.
Toilet
View of the street from the appartment.
Mino the cat
The kitchen
Living room
Room for our volunteers.
Street near my home






Host ref number: 914448946631