Looking for a hand with an old house and garden near Cork, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 87 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Tom and I am starting out with the renovation of a former dairy farm complex. There is a very old and charming farmhouse in reasonably good condition, many little sheds and outhouses, a bit of land and an area with tall trees and woodland flowers.

    I am a multi-faceted person with interests in music, literature, art, agriculture, environmental issues and human behaviour. I would appreciate any help guests can offer and I will enjoy the company.

    Ps. I am vegetarian/pescetarian or a fish'n'chip-ocrite as one friend calls it.. I won't be cooking any meat, but volunteers are welcome to eat what they want:)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I hope anybody who comes will enjoy this place, which I think is quite special. I hope we can get on well together and remain friends so that one day I might be able to return the favour.

  • Help

    Help

    There's the old house, outbuildings and a couple of acres in a beautiful part of west Cork. I am hoping to convert some of the buildings here into accommodation for artist retreats in the future.

    For now I have a lot to do with cleaning, painting and organising the old house and setting up a garden. Many of the buildings need to be fixed up. New fittings are needed and some need structural repair, like uprights, beams, pillars etc. I'm not a carpenter but I am willing to try a lot of stuff so there will be some shared learning. If you have skills in this area then you are most welcome but do not worry, there are many other easier jobs to be done.

    I am open to ideas from guests about what else can be done here. If anybody wants to initiate a creative project, I will listen and if it fits a sustainable ethos we can do it.

    I like to play music and anyone with musical interests would be very welcome.

    There's always plenty to do. During the winter I managed to plant a few trees down the field and start a couple of stone walls. There are many unfinished projects around the place so if you feel inspired to tackle one I won't stop you unless I think there's a health and safety issue.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Irish, German...smatterings of French, Spanish, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guests can have their own room, but I might ask close friends to share temporarily as I often have my own friends visiting too. I will provide sheets, bedding etc.
    People are welcome to camp in the field.

    There is a wood stove and oil-fired central heating.
    Washing facilities are basic but functional; there's a washing machine, clothesline and for ourselves a bath with a shower-head from the tap.

    I try to minimise waste so I ask visitors to consider avoiding the purchase of items with excessive packaging, especially if this cannot be recycled. I clean and separate all recycling and I have a compost bin for biodegradeables.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Within walking distance (1 hour) of the charming market town of Dunmanway with bus services to Clonakilty, Cork, Bantry and Skibereen etc.
    This is terrific cycling/walking country so guests will enjoy exploring the quiet little roads.
    I am willing to bring guests on day trips on days off. There are many attractions within 30 minutes drive, beaches, lakes, forest parks etc.
    I will offer to bring guests along to local social events, pot-lucks parties etc., of which there are many in West Cork. Indeed, we might host some ourselves.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours/day



Host ref number: 162842812219