Eco house building with a family - Beautiful village Preserje, Slovenia

Country

Slovenia

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This year we are building our ecological house in beautiful village Preserje in the Vipava Valley, south west Slovenia.

    We are a young family, Manca, Čopko and little Lev (2 years) transforming a nice piece of land, an old orchard into our ecological settlement.
    We have already build a small house (30m2), The “Kabana” which is more of a workshop to build home and a dry toilet and solar shower. We don’t live there yet full time but it is already quite comfortable. We have also a nice camping caravan to host friends and helpers.

    We are preparing the house building and from May on till November we are planning to build the house. Wood construction, Roof, Straw bales and plastering.
    We will organize workshops gathering bigger teams for specific moments (putting up wooden structure, isolation) but you are totally welcome to help for a couple of days, or more as it will be busy in Preserje this year till we have a roof finished!

    If you have some interest into ecological building, it doesn’t matter if you are already a skilled wood worker or just an enthusiastic newby in the field. There will be plenty different things to do.

    Along with the house building we are slowly preparing the soil for some permaculture garden. There can be some energy to be put into the garden too if you like it.

    We are probably gonna work full time when we are available but we expect you to also take time and visit the surroundings! The sea side is 20km away at italian cost with great cliffs, the Vipava valley has plenty beautiful sites and villages, rivers for swimming, hills for hiking, fantastic local food and wine farms around…

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are two performer artist that fell into the straw and want to make home, mostly ourselves.
    We are not professional builders but getting there as we have helped a lot around in europe and slovenia and build a few small houses ourselves.
    This is opportunity for you to get to learn by practice the making of a natural house.
    But enjoy life is also important and for sure the end of the days should be cozy, start a nice campfire, bring out music instruments, cook from local plants...
    We have been around the world before settling in the village we fell in love with, and we are a mixed family, french and slovenian, all together we speak quite some languages.

  • Help

    Help

    - mostly building ecological house
    - cooking/shopping
    - general maintenance

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Slovenian, English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German (a bit rusty maybe), Danish, Swedish (to some level!) and for the rest with body language and good mood!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As we don’t fully live there yet, we will live like you, let’s say a good camping level!
    We have a cute Camping Caravan with kitchen that we can offer, but also plenty space to put a tent. Plenty trees to put hammock and sleep with the stars but the tiger mosquitoes tend to make it less romantic.
    We have build functional dry compost toilets, and very soon solar shower running.
    Water and electricity but no internet.
    Animals most welcome.
    We can adjust with food preferences as we are ourselves a bit of everything, vegetarian, or not, with or without gluten, we will provide food from morning till evening, and if you are willing to take over sometimes and make us try your recipe, most welcome!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For sure passing by us this year will not be exactly resting… Having to build a home mostly ourselves this year (and finish it next year) will mean busy time. So be ready and come with plenty enthusiasm and energy!

    For sure we will not demand from you to follow our working rhythm and you are most welcome to help for half a day and enjoy the rest visiting around…

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 158931243366