Help with our family eco life near Aljezur, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 242 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ours is a small farm 6km south of Aljezur (8km to the beach) where we live ecologically. The land is 2.5ha of handbuilt terraces, and it is limited by 2 rivers with a beautifull pond.

    We are a vegetarian family, Fernando (pt), Eva (Cz), Maia ( 2007) and Lia (2012). We moved in 4 years ago and theres always something interesting to do in the land!!

    At the moment the garden is needing a lot of care and dedication, planting, weeding, mulching, harvesting, we want to start doing more permanent beds, add a lot of organic matter (we have a wood chipper), colect manure and add sand to improve the soil fertility and structure... so any one who has experience with gardening organic/permaculture way is very wellcome!!

    If you are an experienced grower contact us, theres a possibility of paid work at the garden!! :)

    Eva is doing medicinal ointements and she needs a help from time to time, so you will get the chance to learn how to make your own natural creams:)

    We love cooking (vegan/vegetarian) but its always great to taste new flavours from around the world, so you are welcome to prepare meals whenever you feel like:)

    At the moment we have a small tent with shaded area and kitchen done by our lovely volunteers, where you can stay, outside shower, compost toilet, wifi, and a beautyfull pond to go for a daily swim!

    We have bikes to lend that can take you to the beach (8km) or to the village, Aljezur (6km) where you can get most of the things you will need!

    once or twice a week we go to the beach (surf) so you are wellcome to come with us!

    If you have any special skills, let us know, we are interested, maybe it can be usefull!

    We are a nice, easy going family that will be happy to host any willing worker:)
    We expect a 5h a day work 5 days a week, weekends are free, you can help me at the local market or go for your own trips to know this beautyfull region!

    Looking forward to meet you here!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building

  • Help

    Help

    Hi! we r needing 2 hardworking volunteers to help us build our small cabin (wood and light-straw-clay) start today (25sept)
    Experience in carpentry+building is appreciatted! great oportunity to learn build house ecologically

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    portuguese,czech,english,spanish,french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    tent if good weather, house if rain

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we have bikes available that can take you easily to next village ( Aljezur 10min.) or the beach (30min.)
    lots of beautyfull places to go to!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 158697833881