With puppies, dogs, garden - Easy Bus from Brisbane, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 516 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    47  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    945

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    :: Need help for January and February 2020 ::

    Hi! We are a couple who have done heaps of travelling and love meeting people with an adventurous spirit who are keen to share and learn about a very special part of Australia. We breed a small number of dogs for therapy and assistance work. At the moment we have pups who need daily playing with and loving, and a hand with feeding and caring for our dogs, and a bit of a hand with the farm.

    We offer several opportunities, depending on what you are looking for. I try to tailor what people do to what suits them. At certain times of the year we may need a hand with things around the farm which are seasonal.

    What we are looking for: People who are mature, independent and motivated. Days vary - some are very quiet, others are long and busy.

    ENVIRONMENT
    We live in a area of endangered Brigalow Belt vine thicket - forest teaming with birds (34 species on the farm), reptiles and lots of kangaroos and wallabies. The climate is good - not as humid as coastal Queensland and a few degrees cooler.

    WORK ENVIRONMENT:
    It is a very busy place, suitable for mature-minded, fit, active people who have lived or travelled independently. This is important to us, as we primarily do workaway to meet interesting people and enjoy conversation. We enjoy chatting, having fun, and hearing about your travel adventures and your homes. During the day I like to work with volunteers, but sometimes you will be working on your own for a few hours, as I need to be on tractors or get other work done. If you are the sort of person who pitches in to help without being asked, you will fit right in and enjoy things very much, and have a lot of fun.
    We try to match jobs to your experience and what you enjoy. We enjoy good conversation, laughter and sharing information about countries and culture over dinner. I am happy to use google translate if we have language challenges, and have found that laughter is shared even if we can't always understand each other's language. We prefer longer term stays, but flexible. I have travelled overseas to see people who have stayed with us, and enjoy making new friends. We are easy to find - I can pick you up from the city of Toowoomba, about half an hour from us. We go to town a few times a week, so if you enjoy peace and quiet, its great, or you are welcome to come in for a taste of the city. We look forward to hearing from you soon!

    No Smokers, We have accommodation for up to two people maximum.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love the cultural exchange with workaway, and have met some really awesome people who will remain good friends. If you enjoy sustainable living and farming, we are happy to share with that. We provide delicious, healthy meals, a comfortable bed, and good company. We can help with English if you like. You will learn lots about life in australia and on farms, and about the wilderness areas in the precious Brigalow Belt area of Queensland. You will see awesome sunsets, the best star scares at night ever, and learn lots about native Australian animals. Currently we have some huge monitor lizards which enjoy their meal of meat just beside the house - not something you see each day, even in Australia.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a variety of things that we would love a help with, especially helping us with the dogs at the moment. There are puppies to train and feed, cleaning, shampooing etc. We enjoy working with cheerful, outgoing people. Language is secondary and we are happy to help with English too.

    THINGS YOU WILL NEED:
    Covered shoes for working in
    Comfortable loose fitting work clothes suitable for for climates
    Water bottle

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little German, a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a comfortable volunteer room set up next to our house in a caravan. This is just for sleeping in, and you will be part of our family for meals and the rest of the time. It has power, a comfortable bed, table chairs etc.

    We are off- grid and have a really good solar power system, and high speed internet.

    I love cooking and aim to have really tasty, healthy meals. Generally I will cook, and leave washing up to volunteers. We have high speed broadband internet - WIFI.

    We are still in the process of building our house, but it is coming along well and just the kitchen to complete now.

    Non smokers please, or if you are giving up, this is the place to do it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Explore Toowoomba and the surrounding areas, or go to Brisbane if you wish. In the local area we are reasonably close to the Bunya Mountains. They are really beautiful rain forest areas, with lots of walks and wild life. Our farm has protected tropical vine thicket and some beautiful forest areas. There are a lot of bird (34 species) and really cool reptiles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day / 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






























Host ref number: 266993718986