100 acres in beautiful Northern Rivers region, NSW, Australia



Favourited 904 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description



    We're Kirsty & Regan - manager's of a Farmstay. Situated in Stokers Siding (15 minutes from Murwillumbah and 1 hour from the Gold Coast), you'll love our farmstay and there's so much to be experienced while you're here. Not only will you get to put your hands to all kinds of tasks on our farm, but in your free time you can explore our 100-acre property, as well as the nearby towns and villages.

    We're looking for people to help us care for our animals (cows, chickens, goats, pigs, rabbits and reptiles), do landscaping and gardening, and help us as we plan new projects.

    Come and learn how we run a successful small-scale farming operation which includes fresh produce as well as animals which we keep for the enjoyment of our guests. Our Farmstay is also a campgrounds which caters to individuals, families, and groups.

    Our arrangement includes;
    - Accommodation in our exclusive volunteer rooms (dormitory style)
    - Kitchen Facilities and includes good food
    - Internet & Laundry Facilities
    - Transportation as needed

    While this workaway offer is a straight cultural exchange, where you will be involved in the not-for-profit aspects of our farm and family-life, we can sometimes also offer extra paid work for additional hours (e.g., catering for events) or if we have a short-term need in our business where we need extra help. Please don’t ask to come if you are only interested in paid work as this is not something we can offer.

    We would love to meet you and get to know you and we're sure you'll have a memorable experience with us here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Meet guests from all over Australia while participating in a fully functioning farmstay. Close to the the historic town of Murwillimbah and the beautiful Tweed Valley. You'll learn how we like to live naturally and celebrate nature. Maybe you've never milked a cow before or bottle-fed a baby pig - that's the kind of thing we do here every day!

    In your spare time you can swim & kayak in our beautiful dam; enjoy the many walks around the 100 acre farm or just relax and soak up the peaceful environment. We are close to Mt Warning if you want the challenge of climbing a mountain and also close to the ocean (40 minutes by car to Byron Bay).

  • Help


    We usually work for about 3.5 hours in the morning and then a little in the afternoon as we put away all the animals for the night. Work is varied and ranges from simple tasks like cleaning (animals and stalls), to more complex and harder tasks such as caring for the animals, chopping firewood, and helping in our vegetable gardens. We can usually provide a schedule that will include a variety of work, so you're not always doing the same thing every day.

    We work hard while we're working, and if it's raining, well the work still needs to get done. But when the work is done, it's a great place to relax and enjoy nature. You need to be very comfortable working with animals - even if you've never done it before, if you're scared of small animals, well you might have a hard time convincing the cows to go where you want them :-)

    A typical week here is usually very quiet from Sunday afternoon to Friday afternoon, with only a handful of guests and campers staying onsite during the week. Then on the weekends there would usually be between 15 & 30 families staying onsite. You will get to see what we do including interacting with kids, our feeding and milking demonstrations in the morning. And, if you're staying during the school holiday seasons then it's like the weekend... but every day!

    However, with that many people around, you'll be surprised just how peaceful and quiet it can still be here - we've intentionally designed it that way!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Boys dorm and girls dorm. Shared facilities.
    Our family live onsite in the manager's residence, and you will be staying in the main Farmstay building which has our wwoofers accommodation facilities. We love getting to know our workaway-ers, although for the most part, you'll look after your own meals and entertainment we often eat together and enjoy getting to know you outside of work hours too.
    The water here is either rainwater - yep, straight off the roof - or filtered dam water, both taste excellent, and you'll wonder how you ever drank city-water after you've had it for a few days.
    Our fridge and pantry are always stocked with lots of yummy food and we are more than happy to buy food according to your dietary needs (vegan, vegetarian, etc).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you've read all the way through this profile and it sounds the kind of place you'd like to stay and the kind of Australian adventure you're looking for, then please mention the word 'rabbits' in your application message so that I know you've read all of this.

    We are more than happy to pick you up from our closest town, Murwillumbah.
    However, it would really help us if you could arrive between Tuesday and Friday, and during the day.
    If you are coming from Brisbane or the Gold Coast you can easily find a bus that comes to Murwillumbah.
    Also, if you are coming from Byron Bay there are a number of bus companies that stop here.
    If you have a choice for which bus stop to get off at, the best one for us is the Tweed Valley Way Coach Stop.
    If you are coming from Sydney via train, the train only goes to Casino, and then you catch a bus to Murwillumbah. That bus only gets here at 9pm so it's not our favourite :-) but if it is your only choice, we will of course still pick you up - but please aim for Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday nights only.

    Once we have established an agreed arrival date and duration of stay with you via Workaway messages, our preferred contact method is using WhatsApp as it is easier to message each other any last minute details, especially on the day of your arrival. If you aren't travelling with a mobile phone that has data, please let us know. The Coach Stop on Tweed Valley Way is also the Visitor Information Centre and has free WiFi.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 149722777343