Child Care / Housekeeping in Medieval Tuscan Village, Montefegatesi, Apennine Mountains



Favourited 471 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    After a bit of a break from Workaway, we're excited to get back into it and meet some wonderful new people! I am a 36-year-old American mom living in Italy with my two gorgeous little girls (6 and 3) and my lovely Italian husband. We live in a picturesque medieval village called Montefegatesi in the Apennine Mountains. Our family is thoroughly bilingual/bicultural evidenced by an infusion of both American and Italian influences in virtually all aspects of our lives. Our oldest daughter is currently in first grade and our little one is in her first year of pre-school. My husband works full-time and I am in the process of building an online business. I am most in need of someone that I can count on and trust to look after my girls while I work. In addition, I need someone who will help me keep my house tidy and clean. Along with these primary activities, I also welcome help with all different types of tasks, including computer work and gardening in the summer. Right now we are ONLY OPEN TO SINGLES. We would really prefer individuals who stay on for at least a month. Also, please come prepared with volunteer work insurance.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    My two daughters are bright and loving girls who are accustomed to a stimulating, responsive and attentive environment. I am looking for someone loving and fun, who can combine an ability to engage children with a strong sense of responsibility.

    I'd love to see a variety of activities take place over the summer months, from reading and creative writing to singing and making music; from treasure hunts to identifying local plants and insects; from developing and performing plays to creating artwork with various media. There is really no end to the possibilities!

    Regarding the house, keeping it looking neat and tidy, as well as clean, is a priority. This will involve picking up toys, folding and putting away laundry, sweeping and mopping, etc. Activities such as cooking, making shopping lists and reorganizing cupboards will probably become relevant as well, depending on what's needed. Please do not apply unless you know your way around a kitchen and have a propensity for cleanliness and organization :-)

    Also, I love flowers and we keep a veggie garden in the summer so, depending on when you're here, you could also get involved in some gardening if you're interested.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will be living in a separate house right across from where we live with up to 2 other people. You will have your own bedroom while sharing a kitchen, sitting/dining area, and bathroom. There is also a washing machine at the house. Wifi is unlimited and accessible throughout the house as well as outside. The house is heated by an incredibly cozy and effective wood burning stove. As we are a young family, eating regularly with workawayers is not really feasible, but we would love to share at least a couple of meals together during your stay and I will stock your fridge to keep you self-sufficient foodwise.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    While our village is beautiful, historic, and all sorts of other great things, it is remote. It is a great place to settle into if you've been traveling for a bit and, in general, adventurous and self-motivated individuals seem to be better suited for this type of destination. If you are looking for a change of pace, where you can reflect and recharge, this is the place for you. Reaching Montefegatesi requires a 20 minute drive up from the base of the mountain. A basic level of physical fitness is essential as you will be walking (mostly uphill:) a lot! That being said, there is a bus service that runs 2-3 times a day that will take you to the main town, Bagni di Lucca, at the bottom of the mountain. From there, public transport is relatively easy. For instance, getting to Lucca and Florence is not a problem and very much worth the trip during your stay. I will, of course, pick you up at the train station which, fortunately, is also in Bagni di Lucca. It's also fairly easy to catch a ride down the mountain with either us, someone else in our large family, or one of the locals as we are a small community and are always helping each other out. Hiking in the surrounding mountains or just spending time savoring a mouth watering cappuccino at the bar in piazza are great ways of spending your free time while here. Winter can get a bit chilly, so warm clothes for winter travelers are a must.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week. The exact timetable can be worked out together with workawayers.

Host ref number: 149687174678