1 / 4

Learn about nature's healing secrets in Reggio Calabria , Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 91 times
  • Last activity: 17 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hi there,

    I'm Caterina and I'm mother of two boys (Antonio and Agostino), who both live in other cities. I'm also grandmother of little Luca.
    I decided to live in the countryside, where I renovated a small house. Here I work as a naturopath. I collect herbs and prepare herb tea, infusion and other natural products like creams for facial care, oleolites. Herbs, specially the spontaneous ones, are actually the best farmacy the world can offer you. I also make soap, lip stick,body cream, toothpaste. Furthermore, among the herbs I work with, there are also flowers of Bach.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can show my hosts the herbs which I work with and how to recognize them, both eatable and curative ones.
    For sure meanwhile you are here there can be need of making body cream, soup or other products so you can have the opportunity to learn how they are Ande and then do it for yourself.
    For me the herbs are a passion, you will be surprised if how many herbs you have already seen and didn't know how useful they are. Here is a place for gathering, connection and spiritual growth. sometimes I organise as well some rites, for example,for the equinox and the Magdalenas' day.
    You will also discover italian culture, traditions and learn Italian of course. I like cooking so exchanging recipes will happen for sure.

  • Help


    I need help for the house in the countryside and what this requires like wood collecting, work with the garden, etc.

    The work that I need is not helping for my buisness activity in my house of herbs. The work is the normal work involved because of living in the countryside and others more specifically connected to my passion for the herbs and their transformation. Living in the fields, collecting and sistemizing wood is a must for the winter. There are many olive trees that eventually need to be taken care,as well as some fruit trees. I have a garden that also needs some care. I really value eating from what mother earth provides;for example, I try not to buy even vegetables that are not of this season. I have some plans of construction too.fir example, I would like to build a green oven. I used to have one in my father's house and it was really kind of a ritual making bread and sharing with many friends and family.

    Another is the construction of a shelter attached to the house to have more space and the room that's available now can be left only for the transformation of herbs. All in all, if you have skills working the garden, building, working with tools, this is a good place for you.

  • Languages spoken

    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    I don't have space inside but the place outside is beautiful. If you have a tent or campervan this place is amazing. If you don't have a tent but intend to come, no problem, I have.
    There will be three meals provided: breakfast,lunch and dinner,that will include vegetables from our own garden and the herbs we can collect as well. From here on, you will see gardens in a new way.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live 5 minutes from a small town, named Gallina, where there are some caffès/gelateria and pizzerias. From there, it's possibile to reach by bus the main city, Reggio Calabria, with its beautiful beaches, the famous Riace bronzes and the Aragonese Castle.
    My home offers a wonderful view of Mount Etna, the sicilian volcano.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have already hosted one person with a campervan. What would be difficult to provide due to tecnichal difficulties is the electricity,but parking site is not a problem.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We can talk previously about it, but it's a possibility as far as we can make sure there's no risk for anyone, either people or the animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 224955117989