Help a portuguese family start a new food forest project in wonderful Setubal peninsula, near Lisbon, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 91 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four. Lucia the mom, 45, is a enviromental journalist/advisor. Henrique, myself, a retired 68 years old multi professional, from music to business, and Lucas and Gui, our two sons, 11 and 9. We have recently moved to the country near Lisbon, to a 1/2 hectare little farm with a wood house, adjacent to a small town, where we are currently going through the very first steps of implementing a project on a more sustainable way of life, including raising the most of our own food, in a bio/permaculture way and trying to transform a barren land into what we would like to be a food forest. We are located in Pinhal Novo, 40 km from Lisbon, in Setubal peninsula, with easy acess to the beach or the city, being served by train and bus on a 40 mn trip.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer the oportunity to help in a newborn project of living with a different aproach than that of the majority of european families, and therefore, learning as we do, on a day by day basis. From a bare ground to a sustainable food forest, this is our ambition for the years to come. Sharing of experiences and pleasant talk is also part of the program, as we are great talkers (daddy) and listeners (mommy).

  • Help

    Help

    We need general help on maintenance, wood construction and gardening, animal care (chickens/ducks), for a few hours a day, with no particular skills needed but gardening and bio/permaculture knowledge preferred as we are novices with litlle to almost no practical knowledge. Permaculture design and planning would certainly be a plus. Having a respiratory chronic disease, a more intense labour is totally forbiden in my condition thus the need of help. The oportunity to discover the day to day small labours that this living option requires. Because of a few projects in line, electrical instalation knowledge is very wellcomed as well as wood cabin building and maintenance (outer sun and water protection).
    Of course, digging is an inevitable task for tree planting which we will be preparing for the next winter expecting to plant a few dozens trees in the end of winter.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, french, english, spanish and a little italian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a well equipped motorhome on the grounds, with double bed plus two bunks, kitchen (you can cook for yourself), fridge, shower, etc . WE will provide breakfast and lunch, dinner and any other meals beeing on your own or upon agreeing previously (you can cook in the motorhome).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Portugal is a friendly and very safe country, with easy going people. There will be plenty of time for you to see the country around us, including the marvelous nature reserve of Serra de Arrábida, where mediterranean vegetation is still as it was in old times, a mountain bordering the sea with it's secluded french riviera like beaches, Palmela and Setubal, and the Troia peninsula, with kms of pristine atlantic seawater and almost 50 kms of untouched beaches. Also, Lisbon is 40 mn by train or bus so visiting is easy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 147113141773