Help with looking after animals and maintenance tasks on a smallholding in mid-Wales with rescue animals, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 118 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days


 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    My name is Iris and I am based at a beautiful smallholding in mid-Wales on the very edge of Snowdonia with my 5 horses and ponies, 2 dogs, 3 cats, 7 sheep and 7 lambs. My family is around at times, but with 2 grown up sons you never quite know what they are up to and my husband has to work away a lot. We have moved to this amazing property 18 months ago, with the intention to start a dog training centre and a horse / human relationship teaching hub. However, the property requires quite a lot of work for us to be able to move towards the overall aim. So if you have good carpentry / general maintenance & sound animal skills to help me with some of my projects, you would be helping me to get there sooner. We have taken on a lot and even maintaining the current status quo takes a lot of doing.

    I have a passion for all animals, especially horses and dogs, with whom I spend many hours a day with. I am a dog and horse behaviourist, which means I work with them to learn and understand how I can help them and at times their human counterparts. All my animals have been rescued apart from the sheep and my intention is to help many more. In addition to the above, I am a fully trained podiatrist (doing horses feet) and I also teach the piano accordion. I am always keen to pass on my knowledge if someone wants to learn. I have an outgoing personality and would love to share this wonderful space with like-minded people who are motivated to help do what's necessary to achieve our overall aim.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Free accommodation in our lovely farmhouse and an allowance to cover your food costs. We are happy to pick you up and drop you back to the nearest town, Welshpool, which is easily reached by train from Birmingham airport (most local to us, approx. 2 hours by car / train) or other parts of the country.

    We live in a beautiful, but remote, part of mid-Wales with no public transport nearby. The next village is 3.5 miles away (Llangadfan) and the nearest town (Welshpool) is 30 minutes drive by car. There is an infrequent bus service from Llangadfan to Welshpool. If you want to be mobile during your time off your own transport would be essential.

    If you are like us and you love and appreciate open countryside & wildlife and your idea of chilling out is connecting with nature in whatever way you choose, you will love it here!

    During your time off you can walk for miles, we are close by to a 10000 acre Forestry Commission woodland. You are welcome to borrow our mountain bike to further explore the surroundings, spend time watching the myriad varieties of birds going about their business or chill out on one of the benches around our very own lake! Meditate or practice some yoga, read a book or come out with me on a horse carriage ride. This is a unique and close to nature experience which is very special. It has been my passion for more than 25 years. So just sit back and enjoy!

    During the evenings you are welcome to join in around the log burner (in the winter), which makes for a lovely atmosphere. If you like music, I play and teach the accordion regularly and on other occasions we get together playing board games and having informal chats. A great time to improve your English skills.

    We do ask that mobile phones (and any other wireless devices) are turned off in the house, as I am sensitive to these devices and they give me headaches and generally affect my wellbeing in many different ways. In any event there is a poor signal inside the house; but you are welcome to use your mobile phone outside. or in the nearby stable area, outside working hours. We don’t have wi-fi connection for the internet for that very reason, but we have a wired internet connection enabled around the house via Ether-net, which you are welcome to use.

  • Help


    My life revolves around animals and anyone joining will be asked to help out looking after them. Previous involvement around animals is essential, having looked after them as a main carer. You will be expected to be confident around animals and the chaws involved in caring for them.

    The stables need mucking out and the fields need droppings to be collected on a daily basis. We have a quad bike to help with the cleaning up process, which makes live easier and takes the hard work out of this very important daily task. Due to the nature of rescue horses I have a lot of remedial work and various training exercises to do with them, which can take up a lot of time. The aim is for you to help me free up time for this important task, therefore I am looking for someone with initiative and self motivation who is happy to get on with tasks by themselves once they have been shown what needs doing.

    You MUST be good with dogs. Our Romanian rescue dogs, live in the house. As you can appreciate they come with a whole host of issues and you will be expected to be dog savvy as well as be prepared to follow house rules which will enable the dogs to live calmly around you. You will need to be positive, friendly and open to understanding dog behaviour. They are very friendly once you are accepted as part of the family, however you will need to be responsible for your own actions. I would be pleased to share my experiences with you as a dog behaviourist to overcome potential inital hostility. Please do NOT apply if you are frighted / apprehensive of dogs.

    You will have your own bedroom and either your own private bathroom, or a shared bathroom, depending on the room available. As you will be treated as one of the family, we expect you to participate in household tasks such as washing dishes, vacuuming and cleaning when necessary. You are in charge of keeping your own room and bathroom clean and will need to do your own washing.

    Depending on what is going on at the time, you will either have a food allowance to buy your own food or you will be expected to join in with the cooking for all of us. You are very welcome to use all our kitchen facilities, but are expected to clean up after yourself as you go and look after things as if they were your own. Personally, I am a vegetarian and try and spend minimal time in the kitchen.

    We will welcome you into our family and treat you as one of us. Should English not be your first language, we will happily help to improve your English language skills as we live and work alongside each other.

    In return we ask that you treat our place and everything in it with respect. You will be hardworking, self-motivated and happy to help under your own steam when required.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will either be staying in a double room, with en-suite bathroom, in the 16 century Welsh farmhouse or in a single room with a shared bathroom.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Hours are 5 hours/per day, 5 days a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 146774877645