Live, laugh, and learn with us in Beautiful British Columbia

Country

Canada

Favourited 173 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1246

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four; mom, dad and two boys. Trey is 9 and Jayce is 6. My husband and I both own companies. I am a veterinarian and own my own equine/small animal practice close to where we live. Dave is the owner of a heavy equipment company that works in the forestry and energy sector in our province. His work takes him all around the beautiful province of British Columbia. We live on 183 acres of farm land that produces hay and pasture. We currently have 1 small dog, 2 absolutely gorgeous orange long haired cats, 3 horses, 1 Welsh pony that is trained to pull a cart and be rode, and 1 yearling filly.

    We are an active and busy family; we love spending time outside gardening, fishing, camping, boating, exploring and of course I love riding. Our children also participate in soccer, speed skating and of course hockey!!

    We also love travelling within our beautiful province. We have a big home with two spare rooms. Our ideal workawayer is someone who enjoys life also and likes to stay busy; someone who is interested in sharing a traditional meal or two with us throughout their time with us and has some experience with vegetable gardens, children, and likes to be outside. We do not have any big volunteer projects just a bunch of small jobs such as gardening, mowing grass, painting... If you are interested please send us an email. Thanks. We live in a very safe community and have a large amount of farm land around us with an abundance of nature to explore!!

    We look forward to hearing from you! We also are interested in hosting longer term workawayers with an interest or experience in veterinary medicine.

    Please contact us at your convenience!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lots; animal experience, veterinary experience, working with mechanized equipment, improving english, camping skills, child care

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers will experience a nice balance of rest and relaxation as well as general assisting with light duties; gardening, animal care, off jobs around the veterinary clinic, playing with the boys, joining us on our trips, please contact us for further details.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two private bedrooms; one with shared bathroom; one with its own bathroom
    Separate detatched two bedroom home available of site as well

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers with international drivers license may have access to a vehicle; there is a train and bus transportation as well; hitchhiking is discouraged in our region of road. We have a great network to assist with volunteers who like to travel or need to move from one home to another. We are 6 hours by car to Jasper National Park; 45 min to Ft St James National Park, we live near a river that is perfect for Kayaking; multiple lakes and rivers around to explore. Hiking and biking trails are abundant.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Less than 5 hours per day

Our home!!
My passion; horses and competing! South Peace Horse Trials 2016
Winter Fun February 2017 with friends
Me and my oldest, Trey, trying to impersonate "thug" life!!
Halloween 2016
Spending a beautiful summer day fishing on Stuart Lake, BC
Our Family Summer 2016 Treyken - 8 Jayce - Cori Dave





Host ref number: 14641164414d