Gardening, skiing, and family help on the Côté d'Azur, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 81 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Wanted: 6 weeks from mid November to just before Xmas, or 2 weeks over Xmas and New Year period (one week will be skiing based). France is currently in Lockdown but we have the flexibility to go out shopping and for some exercise but you will be mostly staying at my house. Suits students working online.

    Must have EU drivers license and be comfortable driving in France. My car is a manual one if you will be using it. Do not apply please if you cannot drive.

    6 week help involves getting garden into good shape. This is physical so needs someone strong.

    I have 40 olive trees and the olives need picking from mid November to early December. They are pressed at the local mill into olive oil. Then we will trim most of the trees.

    I am also clearing/ moving some existing plants to prepare beds for replanting.

    There are some domestic requirements- possibly taking my two sons to bus stop/school some days, walking my two dogs and if I am away being responsible for feeding my sons and some transport for them in the evenings and weekends. They are 16 and 12 so they don’t need much looking after.

    We speak English at home. Mum is very sporty. I swim/cycle/run/ski.

    My two sons are aged 16 and 12 and can look after themselves well when they are home. Eldest son is learning German and youngest is learning Spanish so if you speak either of these languages it could be helpful.

    Vegetarian/pescatarien mostly re food although my sons like some meat. I have been vegan before and a superfood chef In a nutrition business so am keen on balanced meals with veggies and eating healthy (with some chocolate 😂).

    If you play football my younger son loves to play in our garden which has big grassy area for football. We all ski well so head to the mountains when we can. We have a week of ski holiday planned between Xmas and New Year near here (still in French Southern Alps) and the ski part of the job involves skiing or entertaining my younger son in particular while we are away. Good level of skiing required as he is very fast and good.

    I have two dogs- both are no problem though.

    Flexible re working hours, but expect around 2 full days of work a week in exchange for board and lodging. Should be prepared to do hard garden work some of the time.

    The payment mentioned is for when I go away- I will pay some extra money to cover the extra work required re feeding my sons and cover for me. I am not offering a full time paying job though.

    We have a good electronic piano in the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    English!! We speak English at home. We have French and English TV.
    Mum is very sporty so you can swim/run/cycle maybe ski with her in the surrounding areas.

    Mum is chef so you can learn some new kitchen skills.

    You will have access to a car sometimes. Car is manual.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for someone to aid with the garden, occasionally walk my dogs, and some care of my two sons, especially if I am away. I'd prefer a student studying online as the flexibility within your day can be necessary for me regarding pick up from school etc. If you wish to work as well while you are staying it might be possible but better if you are self employed.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room. Shared bathroom.

    I make dinner most evenings and happy to make food for you too if you wish. Breakfast and lunch you make yourself- food is included though.
    Occasionally making dinner will be required (when I am not home).

    House has an 11m swimming pool in the garden.

    Shops are 1km away and pretty and lively large village (Valbonne) at 5 minutes drive.

    I have a car you can use for work when you are here and would consider letting you borrow it outside work hours for short trips.

    Plenty of parking if you have your own car.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have a car to use and you must have a driving license for Europe.

    There is a bus service relatively near by but to be honest a car is easier!

    I have several bikes you can borrow as well- road and hybrid- pretty hilly around us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have WiFi but it is not the fastest.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Have large parking in driveway and would love this.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 15 a week.


Host ref number: 146213339789