Extra hands needed for eco-build in gorgeous Northland, New Zealand

  • New Zealand
  • Favourited 477 times
  • Last activity: 9 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hello! We are an international couple with three children who moved to the Bay of Islands In 2017. We bought a beautiful property 15 minutes outside Kerikeri and are in the process of building an eco straw bale house, creating a permaculture garden and self sustainable farm on our 14 hectares. We would love to host people to be involved with anything from building and gardening and farm work to helping around the house and with our children who are 11, 9, 5 and 2 months.

    My name is Lauren and I am from America. I now teach yoga and am interested in holistic health. My partner Barney is from Australia, though we have spent many years living overseas and road tripping through Europe with our children. We absolutely love traveling and meeting new people from anywhere and everywhere.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have really immersed ourselves in the natural building and homesteading world. We are learning how to build this house step by step, so you could be learning with us. At the moment, we are working on light earth walls, clay plastering and earth floors. But of course will move onto anything that needs our attention. As for the homesteading part, we have our own homekill and are slowly building up the garden but have spent most of our time with the house and the children. We would love to share what we know and what we are always learning with you! We also have 2 horses, cattle, sheep, poultry and we have a local kiwi population.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    As stated above, we are trying to transform our 14 hectare block of land to a permaculture farm with a lovely straw bale house. We will need help planting trees, building garden beds, fencing, building the straw bale house, help around the house (some cooking, cleaning and childcare) and generally just some extra hands so we can take on this big project! We are looking for someone (or a couple) to stay for at least a couple of weeks as it takes some time to get into the flow of knowing how things go. You will need a drivers licence and, if you have a car, that would be fantastic.

    We're focussing on our build at the moment and prefer builders, carpenters and other similarly skilled people.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We are currently seeking workawayers with their own accommodation in the form of a campervan or motorhome. We have moved out onto the land in a small cabin which our big family of six are living. We have an outdoor kitchen including sink, benchtop, stove, slowcooker, refridgerator, freezers, and storage, a bathroom/shower unit and a washing machine. We also have wireless internet out here so we are not so disconnected from the world! Because of our lack of accommodation and the pandemic we have not had the loveliness of workawayers recently. We do miss it!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    New Zealand is such a stunning part of the world. In Northland, the weather is often beautiful, even in the winter. It is a subtropical region so there's lots of rain but there is also lots of sunshine, gorgeous beaches, awesome markets, waterfalls, hiking, biking, glow worm caves, ah-the list goes on. If you're a nature lover, there is so much to see and enjoy. The town of Kerikeri is small but so vibrant at the same time. Great coffee, open minded people, plenty of ex pats as well! The nightlife is not one that we know well (4 kids) but there are a few bars and pubs in town and Paihia, which may be a bit more excitable for nightlife, is only 20 minutes away. We have bikes you can borrow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yes, we have reliable wifi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are exclusively looking for campervan workawayers, as we have moved out onto the land into a small cabin and do not have a room to host our new friends. There is still heaps of work to do in the house building and reclaiming our land from the gorse!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours a week/ schedule flexible

Host ref number: 144412927329

Feedback (9)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join me on my sailboat and sail to Spain from New Zealand
Help around several hectares of forest including a large area of regenerating native forest, Motueka, New Zealand.