Help around a beautiful 15th century farmhouse outside a peaceful village near Canterbury, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 599 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    211

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired stockbroker living on a small farm. I have a treehouse which is rented out and I need help with this as it is getting.busier. I do pay for this - for cleaning and turning this round for the next guest. , and ensuring their stay is enjoyable. This is a great opportunity for Workaways to earn a little and meet an interesting range of paying guests. You can see the treehouse In the photos we are very proud of it.
    There is a large garden of 5 acres and this and looking after the house is the area where I need help in addition to the treehouse. I have my two children ( 11 and 15) with me half the time, and help will free up time I can spend with them.

    The accommodation and food ( see below ) is provided and while I am happy to pay for looking after the treehouse I do look please for 20-25 hours of voluntary help a week in exchange for this.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you love theatre the countryside the seaside or music then this part of Kent has it all. There is in addition every opportunity to learn English on site or in any number of language schools in Canterbury.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    I live in a large 7 bedroom 15 century farmhouse outside a peaceful village 20 mins drive from the world heritage site Canterbury . I need help in the garden and round the house, and to look after the occasional rental guests in the recently built treehouse which has become very popular. This will appeal to anyone with an interest in gardening , the countryside and meeting people .
    Where help is with the treehouse I get paid a cleaning fee and am happy to pass that on so there is scope to earn as well. The paid work is exclusively associated with the treehouse and should amount to a maximum of 8 hours a week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Basic french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is a converted 19 century flint barn with inglenook fireplace two bedrooms a wood beamed sitting room and is self contained. We all eat together from time to time and I have had up to 5 volunteers staying. There is WiFi in the barn .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There will be a lot of time off and Canterbury Folkestone Deal are all in easy reach. This is on a national cycle route, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, so there are walks nature trails and parks as well. I have plenty of bikes to borrow , and a land rover defender to drive if insurance permits.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    To be discussed . The paid hours available are 8 per week.

Inside the treehouse
Part of the garden ..
This is the house

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.4)

Communication: (4.4)























Host ref number: 143182545492