Help with veg garden and around the house in Gotland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    594

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    THE PLACE
    There are five separate households here. Two of the households share the vege garden which is around 0.2 hectares. Organic since 1973. This was once a biodynamic farm that sold vegetables to whole food stores and a Rudolf Steiner school. Now the owner is retired and the vege garden is grown for household use (simply organic, not permaculture or bidynamic but we want to learn more!). We grow an annual consumption of veges.
    Quiet place, surrounded by forest, off the main roads. One of the houses was once a trailer, now built into a summer house (one host lives here). One house, once a chicken house, is surrounded by built on rooms and connected to the barn by a green house. This is a Bed & Breakfast during summer. The cowshed is converted to an apartment (where the other host lives). There are other houses on the property as well.

    We can host one volunteer with some experience with gardening, cooking, cleaning and other kithchen work. There's 6-7 beds, shared kitchen, living room and patio in the Bed & Breakfast arrangement that you would care for together with one host. You also need to be able to work independently some days. We will share daily house shores as well, especially with food preparation and washing dishes. We'll make some meals together and sometimes you will prepare your own.
    Work can be week days or weekends, 5 hours a day, five days a week. There will be time for you to spend on your own as well.

    STAY
    A cabin is provided in summer with outdoor compost toilet. Here you can also make tea, breakfast and simple cooking. Wifi is available in the main building.

    SURROUNDINGS
    There are nice small roads and paths in the area for bicycling, and we will also find some opportunities to take trips to some hidden treasures around the island.

    About the host:
    I have traveled a lot, linterested in arts and culture, meditation, philosophy and the deeper meaning of things, different cultures, nature naturally, sustainable living, good natural food etc


    MORE
    The diet is varied. We can cater for vegetarians.
    You need a travel insurance.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Many people like to come to Gotland, this island in the middle of the Baltic sea, for the nature, the light and the history. We can explore some of that.
    We are living in the country side, a quite simple lifestyle, being self sustainable on vegetables. We enjoy sharing our experiences of this way of living and growing.
    We can meditate together if you're into that.
    Plus, very important; experimenting with cooking!

    We have traveled the world, are into the arts and photography, philosophy and multi-culturalism. We enjoy to discuss different perspectives on life and society.

    Many have expressed that they felt such peace here. It's great to be able to share that. Here are some voices from helpers previous years:
    "It has been such a precious time...and peaceful... I learned a lot trying new things, with herbs from garden, edible wild plants and many kinds of spices!..."
    "Nice and peaceful place... Here you can see, feel an eat plenty nature... suitable for people who wants to learn about vegetable gardening...open minded people... I will come back!"
    "I discovered a new way of life..."
    "Discover how do vegetables look in the ground before to land in my plate... discuss of lot of things together..."
    "I really enjoyed to help with weeding, picking (straw-)berries and some renovation work... Plus: awesome food! ;) See you soon again..."
    "...introduced me many beautiful places as well as farming. I enjoyed everything...has great knowledge of life..."

  • Help

    Help

    Vege garden work:
    weeding, thinning, planting, mulching and harvesting

    House work:
    cleaning, laundry, keeping things tidy, cooking, baking bread, getting milk and eggs from local farmers, making fresh cheese etc...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Swedish, Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A cabin is provided with outdoor compost toilet. Here you can also make tea and breakfast. There's also a guest space divided by curtains to the living room in the summer house for shorter stays. Internet is available.
    PS There is a an indoor shower available too AND there is a public sauna in the village!!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is located 30 km from Visby on the middle of the island of Gotland. From Visby one can take a bus that runs through Roma, then towards Lye. Get off at the turn off to Bjärges where you cn be picked up (unless we arrange it otherwise). It's is 6 km from the bus stop. Fairly frequent bus traffic around the island especially in the summer.
    There are nice small roads and paths in the area for bicycling, and we will also find some opportunities to take trips to some hidden treasures around the island.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Herb garden
Junia collected bark from the wood pile to cover the ground around the new planted lilac hedge
The Chicken House
Weeding in May
Stay in the cabin.
Painting and replacing window frames
Korean/Japanese dinner
Drying herbs
Potato harvesting



Host ref number: 142117627861