Enjoy outdoor activities while helping in a huge garden, with animals and around the house close to Berlin, Germany



Favourited 210 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    Together with my 15 year old son I am living in the north east of Germany, close to Berlin. The area is called "Land of the 1000 lakes". For me, this is the most beautiful area of Germany :-) - and I lived in many places and all directions in Germany ;-) Here I am running my Wilderness School. If you love nature, wilderness and water - you are in the right place :-)


    Spring is arrived and I need help in house and in the garden. My neighbor (on the same property) and I started some self-sufficiency projects like growing potatos, keeping chicken and a milk goat together. Here we can always need a hand. I prefer long term stays! Minimum stay is three weeks.

    Dear Workawayers please read the following lines carefully:
    I take every application serios. I like to ask you to do the same. If you have, after reading my profile, the longing to live and work here with me and my son, your very welcome to ask for a free volunteer position. If your just looking for ANY place and applying in several places at the same time, I like to ask you NOT to apply HERE. If you cant wait for an answer a few days, this is not your place (I am answering within two or three days, in winter I was not very active here thats why my answering time is shown with several weeks, its not like this now).

    And now enjoy reading the profile :-) I am looking forward to hear from you!


    You can discover our beautiful area by foot, with a bike or the canoe :-) (both you will get from me). There are lakes everywhere, where you can fish for your dinner :-) (you need a permission to do so). If you need some nightlife - our beautiful capital Berlin is just around the corner. With bus and train you will be there in less than two hours.

    Since I am a selfemployed single mum, I have always much more work than I can handle alone. In 2017 I started a huge garden project where I grow fruits and vegetables. The first steps are done, but the garden still need a fence on three sides since roe deer and fellow deer already discovert the garden as a place for healthy breakfeast ;-) And of course in a garden there is always something to do: making new beds, seeding, watering, weeding, harvesting... I'm using lot´s of wild plants for eating or making jam or jelly out of it. We live in an area where you can find lots of free fruit trees along the roads. The road to our little village is a plum avenue ;-) I try to use much of this free fruits as possible as jam, dried fruits and in other ways.

    Besides the garden I need help with daily tasks in the house, like cleaning, cooking, repairing things...

    I also could need some help with the computer and movie making (youtube).

    We have woodstoves in the house and need always lots of firewood!

    If you are a french native speaker and / or good in mathematics I like to ask you to support my son with learning.

    We live on an old farmplace with chicken, dugs, a dog, some goats and sheep.

    Our neightbors (on the same property) running a guesthouse, so there are often lots of people around. I`m running some projects together with my neightbors like growing potatos and animal care.

    The place, where I have my garden is around 4 km apart from my home and belongs to a friend of mine. Depending on the season and the tasks which needs to be done, you might stay in my home or in the place, where I have my garden.

    The work is around five hours a day, five days per week. You will have two days off. We are all hard working people who love what we do and do what we love, so we dont count really hours. We just living our lives and doing with love whats needed.

    I am open to welcome people of all ages, as well as families with children.


    If you smoke a lot, using drugs in any way or drinking alcool on a daily base, this is DEFENTLY NOT your place.


    I prefer long term stays up to 3 month. I like to have a phonecall before your arrival. If you are already traveling in the area, just come by and lets have a talk :-) The first week is always for getting to know each other. I need to feel comfortabel with the people who are living with me :-) If there is anything totaly wrong between us, I might ask you to leave after one week. I really hope - for you and for me - that it never comes to this point :-)

    Me and my son are German native speakers, we are both fluent in English and learning French.

    I am a huntress too. We eat meat. We dont like to eat only vegetarian or vegan.

    I am looking forward to hear from you :-)


  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am always happy to make a nice canoe trip with my guests :-) If you enjoy nature there are a million possibilities to enjoy your free time. I am teaching Wild Eatabile and Medicinal Plants, so you have the opportunity to learn something about it, while working together with me in the garden. If I am running a wilderness camp during your stay, you might able to participate. Everything has its time, in spring and summer I focus more on the garden and my Wilderness School. In fall and winter I spent more time with hunting, tanning and practice wilderness and survival skills by myself. And whenever its possibel I am a traveler and workawayer too :-))))

    Me and my son, we are also travellers and visited many places in the world. We love to hear about other cultures or nice places to travel :-) And of course we love to help you, to improve your German skills :-)

  • Help


    I am looking forward to welcome people who are open and willing to help out wherever help is needed. There are lots of normal things to do, like cleaning, preparing things, cooking and other daily tasks. After a carefull introduction in your tasks you will work independent. I dont count hours - for me it is more important, that the work is done and most of the days you can make your own timetable.

    Help in the garden:
    - fencing
    - making new beds
    - seeding
    - weeding
    - watering
    - harvesting
    - preserving

    Help with renovation the house:
    - painting
    - plumbing
    - carpentry

    Help in the house:
    - cleaning
    - cooking
    - sewing
    - making jam
    - chopping firewood

    Childcare / Helping with homework (9th grade).

    Language exchange.

    Help with youtube channel / movie making.

    If you want to come and you have other skills than listed - please let me know what kind of help you have to offer, I'am open for nice surprises.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, little French

  • Accommodation


    The accomodation I can offer you depends on the season and the number of volunteers. Normaly you will have a room in the house. It might be that you have to share it with other volunteers. In summer you will stay in a tent. You can bring your own camping gear or get something from me.

    You will have internet access but it might be limited and not always available.

    You will get healthy, local, seasonal food from us, but we dont buy your choclate --- we prefer icecream ;-) Sometimes we eat together and sometimes not. You will have access to a kitchen for cooking your own meals.

    We eat very simple, local (vegetables from our garden and wild plants) and seasonal. That means I dont buy Bananas from South America if we have trees full of plums or the blackberries in the forest are ready to eat. Same with vegetables. If we have zuchini, charts, red beetroot, carots and radish in the garden, I am not buying vegetables in the supermarket. I just eat whats growing. And I gather lots of my food by my self. You will have the same food like us. If you have other preferences you have to take care for it by yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are living in the COUNTRYSIDE! The public transport is poor and there are nearly no possibility for shopping close by. But there is always a way to come to town with me or my friends. After accepting you as workawayer, you will get clear instruction from which trainstation we will pick you up. For organising flights or traintickets use Berlin as destination. Since we are experienced travellers too, we can help you to organize your travel to us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 136858998218