Live with us in our self-built dream home, not far from Tallinn, Estonia

Country

Estonia

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Silver and Ester - a couple with a 4 year-old daughter Saskia and a 2-year-old son Leonhard. We have just moved in to a house that we have been working on for the past 5 years. It is a reed/clay/log house with a big greenhouse/solarium attached to the south side of the house.

    CURRENTLY! Ester is becoming a kidergarten teacher and works 3-5 days a week in a Waldorf kindergarten in Tallinn and takes Saskia, the 4-year old,with her. Silver is at home most of the time with Leonhard. This is the season, when we start preparing our greenhouse beds and outside gardens to aim for bountiful harvests. This is what we need the most help with at the moment, so it would be nice if you had some experience in gardening (but it is by no means a must for being able to stay with us). Other tasks include keeping the house tidy, cooking and hanging out with the kids! There are numberable options for some construction projects, carpentry, plastering walls with clay and lime etc.


    Our place is a lush "island" surrounded by lots of nature, fields and forests. We have plenty of space, big gardens, fruit trees, berry bushes, flowers, chickens and a cat. There's also a family-shared old traditional farmhouse (built in 1892), summer kitchen/guest house, sauna, outdoor yoga studio, and a few more buildings on the property. It's a special piece of land, shared between 4 generations. The whole family is contributing their work/ideas/projects so that we could all enjoy this place as it is today.

    We are still working on our new house, although we already live in it. It's quite an ambitious project and sometimes feels more like a life project rather than a house that will get finished one day. But we've come a long way, and it will get finished eventually! We do all the work ourselves, using already existing materials, stuff we rescue from demolishions, logs from our woods, reeds (type of a straw), clay and anyting really that we can get our hands on :) It's an adventure!

    We go dumpster-diving regularly and a lot of what we eat comes from behind the supermarkets. Most of the time there is also some food from our gardens. We get organic milk products from a lovely nearby farm and order whole-grain organic grains and flours from a mill in the south of estonia.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The old farmstead is, in a way, a glimpse into the past. The whole house is designed and built in a way to support the rythm of the 4 seasons, harvesting, processing grains and sustaining a family.

    We love our sauna (available from april to november), which is and has always been an irreplaceable element of our culture. It's especially nice to introduce the real sauna experience to foreigners, who might not be so faimiliar with it. Sometimes they even say that they're not into it. Guess how many rounds in there it takes, for them to reconsider their opinion?

  • Help

    Help

    We need your support with a variety of things. The kind of help we need, depends mainly on the season, and is mostly gardening, construction, cooking, cleaning, forest tasks and babysitting.

    Regardless of what kind of chores you will be doing, we would really appreaciate if you could contribute with cooking and cleaning, but it's not a must.

    Any amount of time that you decide to spend with the little ones is highly, HIGHLY! appreciated.

    There's always stuff to do in the gardens, like prepping beds, weeding, harvesting and turning the harvest into something.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Estonian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Russian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We've got a couple of options, depending on availability and your preference. We have a nice guest bedroom downstairs. It won't be very quiet in the mornings though, when we start our day with the kids. We have a tiny guesthouse, about 50m away from the big house, that sleeps 2.

    During the warmer time (may-october) there are more options for sleeping - for example a huge palace-tent set up at Acropolis (that's the outside yoga studio), that can sleep at least 4 people or the upstairs of the summer kitchen. Few more suitable corners for sleeping here and there....

    We provide 3 meals (or ingredients for meals) a day. We eat mostly vegetarian, with some meat here and there. Eggs from our chickens, milk products from a nearby organic farm. Whole grain products from organic growers. We can easily accommodate vegan/vegetarian diets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is quite easy to reach us. The place is just a 40-minute drive from Tallinn. There are frequent trains from Tallinn to our closest town, Kohila (7km from us). There is a river nearby, where you can dip in. There's a picturesque bog nearby(good berrypicking!) with a beautiful lake that is good for swimming too.

    We are quite hard-working, but it's not so bad, because it's work we enjoy doing. So, expect to be rather busy here, though you are always welcome to take your own space and just enjoy being in the nature. We go to bed quite early (around 10-12pm) and wake up at different times (7-9am).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We can accept the kind of pets that don't eat our chickens or cat.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)







Host ref number: 988198723348