Help out in rural Somerset, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 361 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Jan - March 2019
    I'm looking for volunteers to cut willow and tidy up the garden (mostly taking out brambles), help with maintaining our guest accommodation (changing beds, laundry, cleaning, painting and decorating). Let me know if you're interested - maximum stay 2-3 weeks.
    Thanks.
    -----
    We are a small family with a big organic garden and lots of space, light and sky. I am a working musician, teacher and mum to two boys (aged 11 and 14) living near the village of Witham Friary in an area of outstanding natural beauty in rural Somerset. My house is 52kms from Bristol and 37kms from Bath. It is a 5km walk (or run!) to the nearest village (with a pub but no shops). I'm out and about a lot - Frome, Bath & Bristol and happy give lifts whenever possible.
    Our nearest town is Frome with good public transport links to: Bath, Bristol, Salisbury, Avebury, Stonehenge, Weymouth, Exeter, London, etc.
    I am particularly interested to host volunteers who could help with the chopping, stacking and hauling logs, weeding, strimming and grass-cutting.
    You should be minimum 21 years old, self-motivated, flexible, mature, hard-working, adventurous, clean and tidy and good with children. The working hours are 8am-12 noon per day, five days per week. You will have two days per week free for travel, sightseeing, etc.
    Workawayer accommodation is separate from the main house in an outbuilding in the garden, with your own shower, kitchen and compost toilet.
    This is a quiet place where you will have plenty of time and space for study, practice and exploration. I'm happy to provide support for English learners looking to to improve their language skills but please be aware that we live in a very quiet rural area if you want intensive language experience you might be better off heading to a bigger town or city eg. Frome, Bath or Bristol.
    Thanks for taking time to check us out.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a friendly rural community and we are welcoming hosts keen to meet travellers from all over the world. You will learn a lot about the British way of life and there are many opportunities for experiencing local culture, language, historic architecture and puddings.

  • Help

    Help

    4 hours help per day, 5 days per week. Housework if needed may include: washing up, stripping beds, laundry, cleaning, tidying, painting and decorating. Gardening: cutting willow, mowing grass, strimming, cutting, hauling and stacking logs, weeding, organic gardening. Bring warm clothes (it's cold here), a waterproof coat, a hat. We will provide gloves and wellies!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single or double bedroom in a converted stable block in the garden (please see photo album) with kitchen, shower room and compost toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 2 miles south of Witham Friary on the road to Kilmington. The nearest bus station (if you're travelling from London) is Wincanton. The nearest train station is Gillingham Dorset (trains depart from London Waterloo).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4

the boys
Log store - half empty!
kitchen - with TV and DVD player
View from the shed
Kitchen
Bedroom in the converted stableblock
Seona, Tom & Gwyn
compost toilet
View of your accomodation - kitchen & bedroom





















Host ref number: 13526327624c