Join our house at the lake in Vidin Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 169 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    555

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are 3 young people living amidst the woods, near a lake, where we see and hear more animals (birds, frogs, dormice, deer, jackals, and our own cats and dogs) than humans every day.

    We are building up a home for Eco Nomands and people who feel the need to come and live close to nature for a while. In summer time, you'll find us hosting permaculture courses, natural building workshops, meditation retreats, creative events and more...

    At the moment, we are still in the development phase. Building up the gardens and home, according to permaculture principles, having some events in summers, and working out how to make all of this possible.

    Feel like joining us for a while, enjoy the wonders of nature and the environment? We'll welcome you with open arms!


    Please respect that we are a community based organization, making this place available for travellers like you and not earning a cent on all this full time work :)
    We are very happy if you chose to contribute to our project, by coming over, volunteering, putting in your suggestions, leaving a donation, or however it is that you would like to volunteer

    Merope is a safe place for all beings.
    We are open minded people welcoming all kinds of diversity. We would like to inform you that we are LGBT+ positive, pro-vegan, respecting everyone's choices in life and religious or spiritual believes.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying here will teach you some things about permaculture, self-sufficiency, living in community and spiritual growth.
    We also love to learn from every visitor :)

  • Help

    Help

    garden work and general homesteading
    help with renovation of the 2 houses
    playing with dogs :)
    some natural building projects
    finishing the interior of the rooms
    landscaping
    helping with permaculture design
    creative community building

    If you have other, own ideas of things you want to do, feel free to share them with us!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, Latvian, Polish, a little German, a little French, a little Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have some rooms available with bed, or there is empty rooms for groups to just roll out their own camping matress. We also have a big garden and a tent or two (or if you like, you can bring your own tent). We have limited electricity.

    There is running water, but for now only outside the house in the garden. We try to live as close by nature as possible, but we love it!
    The food served is vegetarian (pro-vegan)only, and eating meat is against the house rules.

    We do have a car and can pick you up at the train- or the busstation if you feel like joining us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the very north west area of Bulgaria, near the borders with Romania and Serbia. It is a very poor region, but has a quite rich history.
    In Vidin, the nearest city (16 km away) there's some nice things to see, like the Baba Vidin Castle and the old city walls, and there's the Danube river!
    It's a very nice area for walking and biking (amidst the sunflowers in summer)!
    You can have a dive in the lake just in front of the property, and have a refreshing drink at the beach bar of our friend there.
    Also some day trips are possible: Go and visit the Belogradchik Fortress and natural rock formations, it is amazing. Spend a day on the Danube beach, or why not have a weekend in Sofia?

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    6 hours a day, 4 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 135237534478