Help around large straw house and a small independent apartment on the hills of the Oltrepo, Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 108 times
  • Last activity: 04/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family now composed of three people (Alessandra, 53 years old - Emanuele, 53 - Sidi 21), 2 dogs (Momo and Nero) and 2 cats (Pippo and Tina). Unfortunately, Renzo and Maria (95 and 88) left us last year and the house became even bigger. We decided to move away from the city to retrieve a life size closer to nature. We want to build a place in harmony with what we feel. A small farm. A straw-bale house. A happy slump.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a simple life in contact with nature. We are mindful of energy saving, water cycles, bio-building, waste recycling, and local consumption. We like to know how things work. Emanuele is expert in construction. Alessandra is an excellent cook.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are still working to improve the place we live in. We need help to build shelter for animals, arrange the garden (spring / summer), build fences, arrange the existing buildings, cut the wood for the winter.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Italian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Interested in learning English and teaching Italiano

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will be able to sleep in an independent (max 4 person) apartment, with private bathroom, but without a kitchen. There is a chance to have their own fridge, but we would like to share the meal times to give more meaning to cultural exchange.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small country (10 inhabitants) in the middle of the anything. Walk you can reach a small bar, but for other stores you need to take the car. There is a service bus that connects the main location. In the summer there are many cultural events and food. In the winter need to move a bit more away for leisure. Cities that you can visit from here are Milano, Pavia, Piacenza, Genova.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 841198558852

Feedback (11)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)
















House in the Maremma fields needs help the whole year
Looking for some summer help with the children from in Cremona, Italy