Help out to develop a permaculture project in Colima, México

Country

Mexico

updated  

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Me and my sister grew up every summer in our granparents ranch, surrounded by nature, riding horses and rescuing stray dogs and cats.
    We both have a passion for caring about the environment and have always aimed to live in harmony with all living beings; we understand that the lifestyle must people follow as a society, and our forms of production and consumption, have led our Mother Earth to a climate crisis and to social and economic injustice.
    Thats why we want to turn this place into a space meant for environmental education, permaculture and healing, which goes in hand with physical, mental and spiritual sustainablibity.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    When a biologist and a holistic healer come together outdoors, things get fun! We have both studied about agroecological practices and have traveled around America in search of adventure and nature-related information. With us you can learn about animals (even how to ride a horse if you dont know), plants, organic agriculture, vegetarian cooking and, most probably, you will take with you some deeper insights about love for life.
    As soon as possible, we will be hosting some experts in different subjects around permaculture, so you may be able to involve in that. We can teach you spanish in english or viceversa.

  • Help

    Help

    There´s 3 goals for 2021:

    First, January: bioconstruction. We are setting up the kitchen with "hiperadobe" technique which means hard work! Expect spending some hours under the sun and heavy lifting. If you have experience on this field, you are more than welcome to come and collaborate. If you know nothing and are willing to learn while you do, please don´t hesitate and join us. We already know how itś done, the thing is we are just 2 strong girls biting more than we can chew... Help would be very useful and deeply appreciated.

    Then, January: Final details have to be ready by the first week of february, so we are gonna be busy doing different stuff in the ranch so everything is equipped and accessible for all. The food garden is always up and going, so thats a chore that we can share as well.

    Finally (actually just getting started ;)) on february: we are hosting Ná lu´um´s Permaculture Design Certificate. That means, hosting from 15 to 30 people and we are gonna need extra hands to prepare all that food. We are looking for you if you enjoy help preparing meals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Right now we live in a regular house (not the "eco-dream" yet) just 10 minutes away from the ranch. You may stay on a double bedroom here in our house. You (and possibly another workawayer) are sharing room and bathroom and it is your responsability to keep it clean. There´s internet access, hot water, full kitchen and an amazing view on the rooftop.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Colima is a small state, but wonderful. Theres a volcano just one hour drive away from here, were you can do some intense hikes and camping. The ocean is just as far, were you can find great spots for surfing or just chilling. Theres rivers, mountains, hidden magical towns, amazing mexican food, great local coffee.
    Two to three hours away drive is one of the main cities of Mexico: Guadalajara (where my sister and I grew up) way bigger, great night-life, historical center and cultural atractions.
    Colima has a small airport with a direct fly from Mexico city, but the cheapest way to get here is flying to Guadalajara and then take a bus to Colima.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    our internet connection is decent, not the fastest but it normally works well.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as your pet gets alone well with dogs and cats, we are cool :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-6 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 133474582182