updated  

Improving native biodiversity in Coastal North Canterbury, New Zealand

  • New Zealand
  • Favourited 38 times
  • Last activity: 01/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We have a 113 Ha farm with about 50% of the land used for grazing sheep and beef and 50% forestry including pine trees and also some areas of native bush which we are regenerating to improve native biodiversity and birdlife, there is also a QEII reserve with native bush established in the 1980s. We have set up our own small native nursery for propagating and planting native trees.
    Our home block has a vegetable garden, berry cage and lots of fruit trees and we grow most of our own fruit and vegetables, we also have hens and ducks, and beehives. We trap for predators and hunt feral deer on our land.

    We live close to the beach, we like to have fun and make our own cider!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience a rural way of life and contribute to our local community by meeting our neighbours and friends. Learn how to successfully grow your own vegetables, fruits and berries (and how to deal with some of the practical challenges), learn about improving native biodiversity and how to care for native trees and plants, how to trap for introduced predators.

    We have frequently had young people come and stay with us and we usually will work alongside them, ensuring that they are doing the job the way we wanted as well as getting to know them, learning more about where they come from and sharing some of our knowledge and experience with them. On the other hand, once people know what they are doing and are competent and confident, you might be left somewhat to your own devices....

    We very much enjoy good food, we hope you will teach us your favourite recipes and expect that we will have some great fun meals together! I am a keen baker and (occasional) cheese-maker.... home-made ice-cream is a favourite in the summer months....

  • Help

    Help

    The sort of activities we hope you can help us with would likely include maintaining native tree plantings, culling wilding pine trees, spraying weeds such as gorse/ broom/ blackberry, working in the vegetable garden and harvesting fruit and berries, weeding/ cultivating the soil, baiting traps, chopping and stacking firewood, extracting honey and helping with the beehives if you are keen, pressing apples to make cider, feeding hens/chickens and ducks/ ducklings, pruning fruit trees….. all depending on the season/ weather of course. Mostly we request help with physical jobs, outside, but we may also ask for assistance around the house and focus on indoor jobs if the weather is awful. We also may require assistance with DIY projects - if you have specific skills we will try to use them! It would be very helpful if you have a valid driver's licence, having the use of your own vehicle is good but not necessary. We request you stay with us for at least a week, preferably 2 weeks, and maybe longer if things work out well.

    When people have stayed with us previously they have used our tractor, chainsaw, weed-eater, quad bike for various farm activities, if they are keen to do so - we will ensure you are able to use any tools safely.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I have intermediate French and very basic Spanish - I am keen to informally improve my language skills with French or Spanish speaking visitors, and am also very happy to assist others who wish to improve their spoken English. Note however that I am NOT a teacher though and my English grammar may not be perfect!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have relocated a small 100-year-old cottage onto our farm block, about a kilometre away from our home, which is off-grid and surrounded by native trees - workers would probably sleep there allowing a degree of independence if you wish and have your own transport. It has 2 double bedrooms, a simple kitchen with gas stove and gas hot water. Alternatively we have 2 spare rooms at our home, both of which are slightly separate from the main house. The closest bedroom has a queen bed and an ensuite bathroom, the furthest away is a renovated garage which has a big arched window looking out onto regenerating native bush and its own small deck. This second room has a 'trundler' bed which can be made up as either a king single, two twin beds or a large king sized bed, depending on who is using it - they share the main bathroom in the house with us.

    Usually we will prepare an evening meal together at our home but breakfasts and lunches are likely to somewhat more 'casual' and could be at the cottage or out in the garden/ paddock depending on the work of the day. Helpers are requested to help with preparing meals and washing up. We generally eat very well and healthily, and try to use our own produce whenever we can - our family usually eats meat and fish and so meat-eaters are easier for us to feed, nonetheless we can readily accommodate most food preferences.

    We politely request non-smokers only; smoking is not allowed anywhere on our property or in any of our buildings.

    We are pretty easy-going, sociable people but also enjoy quiet periods from time to time.....

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live close to beautiful Napenape beach which has black sand with contrasting white limestone rocks and seals, and there are a number of walking tracks nearby. You can also go fishing in the Hurunui River. Nearby Gore Bay is great for swimming and surfing 20 minutes away.

    Cheviot township is 20 minutes drive away (we can pick you up on request) and you can go to the hot pools at Hanmer Springs 1.5 hours drive away or swim with dolphins/ watch whales at Kaikoura 1.5 hours away. Christchurch airport is also ~ 1.5 hours away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good satellite internet connection and a 2nd backup limited-data plan as we rely upon it for our own business, with a generous data allowance. Note however that just occasionally we have experienced unexpected power cuts here (e.g. power lines down if trees are blown over) which we have to work around. Note however that that we do not encourage visitors to use lots of data downloading movies or music, and hope that they will not spend all their free time using their devices and ignoring us - we would prefer to ensure that we have some time to interact with each other!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a reasonable amount of parking space, and may request that an visitor's vehicle is parked somewhat out of sight for improved security.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 133249624674

Feedback (2)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Homestay on the beautiful Awhitu Peninsula, New Zealand
Join us in our ecovillage in Ōamaru, the coolest, funkiest town in Aotearoa New Zealand