Come to the beautiful Midi- Pyrenees for an Idyllic and relaxing workaway!

Country

France

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/04/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family (fluent in French) of three living near a hamlet called St. Quintin in the Midi- Pyrenees, south of France.
    We live in a lovely house with over 100 acres of land. I am a professor and historian, specialising in Kabbalah. I have a 12 year old daughter, 2 cats, 1 rabbit, 1 guinea pig and a rescue King Charles Spaniel.
    We are looking for someone to help with driving my daughter to and from school, helping in the garden and help looking after the pets. We ask that our volunteers do 5 hours a day with two days off per week (mostly weekends). In exchange for this we offer a beautiful, bright and airy one bed-roomed, self- contained flat situated under the main house (own entrance), the flat has a lovely shady terrace that looks over the garden, it is a truly peaceful setting and a wonderful place to wake up!
    As a family we are strict vegetarians. I love to cook and our workawayers are welcome to eat with us in the main house or they can cook their own food in the flat. We provide all food, but we do ask that no meat is prepared on the premises.
    We live in a spectacular part of the Midi-Pyrenees and are happy for our workawayers to use the car to explore the surrounding area when we don't need it.
    Places to visit close by are the medieval village of Lauzerte, perched on a hill, it is one of the most beautiful villages in France. Lauzerte has a lively artistic community and many festivals are held here throughout the year.
    Our local town of Moissac houses the famous medieval Saint-Pierre Abbey. Moissac is a great little town situated on the Garonne river.
    One mile from our house is the Santiago de Compostela pilgrimage route. We are happy to welcome walkers doing the route who require a week or two's break, good food, great company and a comfy bed!
    The climate here is very agreeable with long summer days perfect for relaxing with a good book, or maybe strolling through the French countryside.
    If any workawayers are interested in learning French / English I am happy to add this into the exchange.
    We are looking forward to hearing from you, and welcoming you to our idyllic patch of France!
    Please do not hesitate to email me if you would like some further information, Anna.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a historian and professor of Kabbalah for some forty years, as part of the workaway exchange our volunteers are welcome to learn what this means, I have a vast knowledge of the surrounding area which I love to talk to new people about. I am more than happy to teach our workawayers French/ English (I am fluent in both), we are a really easy going family who enjoy meeting like minded people and sharing our knowledge.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with driving my daughter to school twice daily, gardening and looking after our lovely pets.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One bed-roomed self contained flat, with large living room, kitchen, bathroom and WC.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers may have the use of our car when we don't need it to explore the surrounding areas. We live one hour from Toulouse, one hour from the famous town of Albi and one hour and a half from the Pyrenees Mountain range. There is a train station & regular bus service in Moissac.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 per day


Host ref number: 133167827567