1 / 3

Help at organic small farm and animal rescue sanctuary near Ljubljana, Slovenia

  • Slovenia
  • Favourited 1271 times
  • Last activity: 23 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    Live and help with a large family (two parents (48and 51) with 5 children, aged
    9 - 26, many, currently around 70, rescued animals and usually some more people) in a beautiful, natural, quiet surrounding.
    We are vegan/vegetarian, non-smoking, non-drinking, calm naturists.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot about natural care for animals, their behaviour, nature, plants gardening, peaceful coexistence, respect for all life and most of all about yourself.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We bought an idyllic farm in good shape in 2010, and are turning it into a natural retreat and ever expanding animal sanctuary just 13 km from the centre of the capital, Ljubljana.

    There's a lot to be done at all times: every morning and evening cleaning, mucking, feeding and taking care of the many animals, taking care of the garden, digging, seeding, planting, pruning and planting trees, harvesting, renewing the electric fence, some maintenance, some construction, cleaning out the woods and making firewood, cleaning up, help with household, and a whole lot more, depending on the situation.
    In fact help in any area will be appreciated ;)

    On the farm there are horses, a donkey, cows, an ox, goats, pigs, chicken, geese, cats, dogs, turtles, tortoises and more different rescued animals coming frequently.

    We offer stay in a room in the guest house with shared showers, toilets and small kitchen, and in summer also in a caravan, tent or haybarn, and full (3 meals a day), mostly organic, vegan/vegetarian food in exchange for 6 hours help a day, 5 days per week.

    Two days a week you are off to explore our beautiful country.
    If you want to stay/sleep/eat here on you free days, we expect you to help us for 2 hours a day in exchange.

    We usually have 1 meal (lunch) and occasionally also dinner together. Breakfast and dinner you will take care of yourself from the food provided, except on your days off.

    We don't tolerate excessive drinking of alcohol or misuse of any substances!

    Nearest public transport and (small) shop is 3 km downhill, your main transport will be your feet or bike ;)

    We prefer you to stay for at least a month, preferably more.

    We expect you to be physically fit, as tasks can be hard and all is physical labour, responsible, organised, caring, honest, flexible, energetic, hands-on, creative, be capable to do hard/dirty manual work like mucking, digging, carrying /lifting 20-25 kg repeatedly and to work on your own as well as in a team, keep things clean and orderly, clean up after yourself, have a sense of humor and understanding for the dynamic and sometime chaotic life with a huge family and sometimes to just sit back and take it easy when things go their own way.

    Things can get loud, hectic and stressful at times.
    Volunteer work can be hard and dirty, sometimes long hours, depending on the circumstances.
    Helping on our sanctuary is not like working in an office or a job! Helping on a farm is a lifestyle. Sometimes there is a lot of work that needs to be done in a certain time. So some days can be some hours more and the other days some hours less.

    We try to spend time with you each day, but it happens, that we will not see much of each other.

    The weather can be really hot in summer (above 30 - 35 degrees Celisus) and cold with snow and ice in winter (it can get -15 degrees celisus or more)!
    Be prepared to work outside in all weather conditions!

    Your room can be heated by electric heater and is as warm as you want it to be.

    The rest of the guest house can be heated by a woodstove.

    We are nude, when the weather and circumstances are appropriate :)

    Thank you for your energy, love, support and new knowledge.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Double and single room in guest house (rooms sometimes shared with other volunteers), small kitchen, showers and toilets. Except in winter also caravan, tent or haybarn.

    Internet is by cable only (ethernet)!
    NO WIFI !!!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are beautiful hiking, biking and running trails right from the farm. Bikes are available.

    We cannot accept volunteers with dogs or children under the age of 4!

    Looking forward to meeting you :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have internet connection by modem and CABLE (ethernet) only. Dependent on weather it can be sometimes slow. !!! THERE IS NO WIFI !!!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a former riding corral available for parking you campervan. Access is possible for all sizes.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 13242349424d

Feedback (37)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Come to a nice homestead in Maribor, Slovenia
Fun loving international family in semi-rural Slovenia