Looking for help on our 10 acre property located near many wineries and Kinglake National Park, Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/04/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for people to help out on our 10 acre property. We are located near many wineries, Kinglake National Park is across the road and great for bushwalking as well as the Toolangi National Park. We have a creek on our property, where you can fish for fresh water trout and yabbies. We have 2 sheep and an Alpaca at the moment, but looking to get some more animals, some small goats, we also have chickens and eat farm fresh eggs and vegetables in our garden. Nearby there are also some beautiful waterfalls and many other tourist attractions close by such as the Healesville wildlife sanctuary, Chocolaterie and ice-creamery. We are a family of three at the moment my husband and I and my son 21 years old.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a typical Australian family living in the country, we are approximatey 70 kms from Melbourne CBD and public transport by train to Lillydale and either a bus service from there or we can also pick up from Yarra Glen which is approxmimately 20 mins away. We have many native wildlife animals on our beautiful property, kangaroos, koalas, wombats, wallabies, possums and birdlife such as King parrots, eastern rosellas, crimson rosellas, kookaburras and many more. The area also has some beautiful scenery and native flora.

  • Help

    Help

    We both work full time and would love some help with gardening, possibly some building experience would be great as we would like to build a carport next to the garage, as well as some house renovation work on our home such as wood flooring and bathroom renovations and painting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a fully self contained area furnished with a kitchenette with a separate bathroom with a toilet. A queen bed with a lounge suite, television. Sliding doors and private entry to that area leading to the balcony one side and the front verandah the other side. Three meals provided and to assist with meal preparation at times and hosts can show you the local area and attractions.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We both work full time and expect and approximately 5hours work per day during the week and two days off to do your own thing and explore the local areas. Respecting house rules as we are on tank water and water is at times limited we limit shower time and expecially during the hot summer period where it doesn't rain as often.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 128865286433