1 / 5

Come and help us in garden, forest and house in Galicia, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 9 times
  • Last activity: 01/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    we are a small famiy of 3 persons, anna 25, lulu 56 and our son yoshi 2 years. we are here in this little old farmhouse since a year now. here in the in galicia and we are living as far as we can from our garden and all the fruit trees. ourselfes we are still learning all this as before we had worked on sailingships in the caribbean sea for many years. we now have 9 companions allready living with us: achu and pichu the two dogs, nia, the cat and our 6 new chicken. we are doing as much as we can (thats allmost everything:) by ourselves and we are well trained in cooking and baking from our former work on ships. we do our own bred, croissants etc and we use as much as we can the food that grows in our garden. there is a lot of work we would love to share in the garden, in our little forest next to our house and we do have many little projects to make our place nicer and better......such as a ruined house next to ours that we are restoring and we do have plans to build a hobbit house in our forest etc etc etc......we would love to welcome here anybody who likes to share our lifestyle for a while and help out in what ever you might be interested and able to...also we would be happy about people that like kids as our little yoshi is happy for new faces here as well. so also people with kids are very wellcome to join us:) our house is outside a tiny village of 6 habited houses and some abandoned houses and it is on a hill with great views into the nature around. it might be especially interesting for people who plan to also live self sufficient somewhere in the countryside or especially around here in galicia. but also for travellers that are interested to see and learn about the unique galician land. it is a fantastic and gorgeous landscape around here and it is not without any reason .....we do have the famous "cañon de sil" 10 minutes by car from here and we have great small river swimming places nearby and it is a fantastic area for hiking. the wine here in this area is famous and very cheap for those who like good red wine:)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we are german and dutch and we do speak german, dutch, english and spanish. in terms of learning we can really show how to make decent german bread, french baguette, croissants etc...all made in a wood oven! in the garden we are beginners but we allready have at least one year of experience and so sure you also can learn something with us here in terms of gardening especially "no dig" and alternative ways...we are trying out a lot....
    we love to do excursions around in our beautifull ribeira sacra to the rivers and in the mountains and we do have the very highest concentration of very old monasteries and churches around here and even if you are not very interested in these things you will be amazed when you see our village church that was built in the 12th century.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    there is no special skills necesary for what we do here, but sure it can allways be helpfull if you have handworking skills. we do garden work and we have to make wood for the winter and for the cooking oven (all is with wood here...) we have to keep our little forest clean and mow the meadows. we do have a workshop with all necesary machines for wood and metal work. and all we know we are happy to share and teach and also we are happy to learn what you can teach. generally we prefere a very easy going and no stress nor rush with all the works. we do not work all the day...a couple of hours every day is ok:)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    at this moment we do have one room for visitors with a comfortable doublebed window view to the garden. so right now it means living with us family life and shared bathroom etc.
    we are working on a small apartment right now and it is also ready to sleep in there allready but the bathroom is not constructed yet but "soon come"! we are used to eat breakfast at about 9 - 9:30am and a lunch at about 2pm and dinner around 8pm. we are vegetarians so our meals do not contain meat. we eat all kind of vegetables dishes with potatoes, rice, pastas and we make very good pizza:) we have a lot of self made products like chutneys and marmelades and tomato and vegetable sauce made from the last harvest. who likes can easily put a tent in the garden as it is a very nice ground for this.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    great things to see and to do around here: se the famous CAÑON DE SIL, hike around in the woods and mountains, swim in the beatifull wild rivers, take a tour to the coast in the fantastic and almost unknown train route monforte de lemos to VIGO...most time along the rio miño at the portuguese border. chill in middle of this great nature between chestnut and oak trees:)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we have enough space for caravans or campers and also space for tents etc

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    we have 2 very young dogs and a cat and we do not believe it should be a problem if another cat or dog joins our group

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximal 3-4 Stunden am Tag, 5 Tage die Woche

Host ref number: 124716985121

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)