Welcoming musicians and help with the organic garden in Monsanto, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 490 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    630

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Kenneth, I came here to the charming medieval village of Monsanto in 2014 to find land and live more sustainably. Since then and thanks to the help of friends and volunteers (who are now also friends) we have built an earthship/strawbale house, a workshop and 45,000 litre water tank. I have an open house policy to all, I share my house with neighbours and travellers. There is always people passing through.

    I'm learning to play the double bass and my neighbours play banjo, guitar and the dobro. We play mostly Bluegrass and Celtic music although we're open to all music. We are desperately looking for musicians to jam and learn from and enjoy life.

    We are in the heart of an unintentional community of like-minded people returning to the soil with an interest in permaculture. My neighbours are from all over the world.

    Vegetarian food is included in exchange for 25 hours a week. Help is needed in the garden and with natural build projects (currently a round house and a pizza oven). Ideas for art projects are welcome.

    We are all equal in my home and are all responsible for cleaning and cooking. The general vibe here is relaxed. I take responsibility for myself and I live without rules and I expect visitors to do the same.

    The facilities have improved, we now have a gas hot bucket shower and flushing toilet!

    There is solar electricity to charge a phone/laptop.

    There is wifi in the Earthship and there are cafes with internet in the beautiful town of Monsanto.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Permaculture skills, language learning, natural building, animal care...

  • Help

    Help

    Natural building, planting fruit trees, seeding vegetables, idea sharing...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camping or sharing the 6 bed dormitory in the Earthship.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To get here from Lisbon: Get a bus or train to Castelo Branco and then catch a bus to Monsanto. We'll pick you up from the bus stop at Relva.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 Hours per week








Host ref number: 619748258368