Scotland - Couple needed to help at our family home

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 195 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    152

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are selling our house and starting our world adventures in the middle of August! We would love some extra help to get our house ready!

    About us - I am Rebecca (40), my husband is John (47) and we have two children. We have both decided to change career and I am now studying to be a Primary school teacher at university. John is at university studying Environmental and Countryside Management. This means our lives can get very busy and we need some help around the house! We love having guests in our home and would like to learn all about where you come from. We can suggest places for you to go and see on your days off and hopefully (exams and essays permitting during term time!) we will be able to take you to some places too.

    We have one dog and two cats. We also look after other people's dogs whilst they are on holiday - in our home. We usually take up to two extra dogs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our Workaway friends could practise their English as part of our family. There will be opportunities to learn gardening, building and maintenance skills as well as sharing cooking ideas and recipes. We like to take our guests to historical and cultural places of significance or recommend others that can be visited in your time off. We like to have all evening meals together as a family with our guests.

  • Help

    Help

    We have one bedroom for one or two people to help with painting indoors, gardening and painting outdoors.

    We need a lot of painting indoors (we hope you love painting :-) If it is good weather we would also need help in the garden (for example mowing grass, cutting hedges, weeding, painting fences and sheds). Also, if my husband can get a few days away from work we would like you to look after our dogs so we can go away for a few days.

    We can't wait to hear from you!!!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom in our home. Our family home is near St. Andrews in Fife and we have also recently bought a house in Helmsdale, Sutherland, which we have started to renovate. We spend school term time in Fife and the school holidays in Sutherland. We enjoy hillwalking and the outdoors. Come and explore the stunning scenery of Sutherland or the historic town of St. Andrews and surrounding areas.

    Our house near St. Andrews:
    We live 6 miles from St. Andrews in a large traditional stone cottage that has been modernised. It is situated in the countryside on the edge of a village. We have a large garden with plenty of space to relax in. We have Wifi and Freesat TV. You can get the bus from the village and it goes to St. Andrews or Edinburgh.

    Our house in Helmsdale:
    We have recently purchased this four bedroom house. We are completely renovating this house and garden and it is 'work in progress'! It is needing a lot of work and has to be fully refurbished. It has hot water, a working bathroom and it is heated by open fires. In the kitchen, at the moment, we have a microwave for cooking, a fridge, a kettle and a toaster.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In Helmsdale, there are bus links and a train station. Helmsdale has a selection of shops and coffee shops as well as fantastic coastal and mountain walks. There is an hourly bus service to St. Andrews from our home in Fife. St. Andrews has many shops and restaurants to explore as well as beaches and historic sites.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day (each person). 5 days a week.








Host ref number: 117449486335